Advertisement:
A2Hosting

Author Topic: Mambo Bridge FAQ  (Read 69047 times)

Orstio

  • Guest
Mambo Bridge FAQ
« on: September 16, 2007, 12:44:30 PM »
Q:  What combination of modules/mambots do I need to use?

A:  If you use the bridge login module, make sure to unpublish the SMF_login and SMF_logout mambots.  If you use the Mambo login module, then make sure to publish the SMF_login and SMF_logout mambots.

Q:  How do I create a link from my menu to the bridge?

A:  Go to your Mambo admin panel.  Go to the Menu menu.  Click on mainmenu.

Click the "New" icon.

Select "Component" and click the "Next" icon.

Select the SMF bridge in the list of components.  Type a name into the name field.

Click Save.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2007, 07:38:05 PM by Orstio »

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 12:52:53 PM »
Terminology to avoid confusion:

Wrapped:  This indicates that the bridge is wrapped within the Mambo template.  This is accessed through Mambo.

Unwrapped:  This indicates that the bridge is not wrapped in the Mambo template.  This is accessed through Mambo.  The URL looks exactly the same as the wrapped setting, but the Mambo template is excluded.

Stand alone:  This indicates the forum location accessed directly rather than through the bridge.  This is not bridged in any way.

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2007, 07:10:00 PM »
Q:  I have migrated users from SMF to Mambo in the bridge configuration panel.  I am using the Mambo login module.  My users are unable to login to Mambo, but they do get logged into SMF.

A:  If you have migrated your users from SMF to Mambo, and you are using the Mambo login module rather than the bridge login module, those users will need to change their passwords in the bridged forum before they will be able to login to Mambo.

Offline Kindred

  • Local Moderator
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 37,605
  • Gender: Male
  • Red Sox WIN!
    • wagner999 on Facebook
    • www.linkedin.com/in/wdwagner/ on LinkedIn
    • @Kindred_999 on Twitter
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2007, 03:32:26 PM »
Q: I am having trouble syncronizing the users or the users who register are stored in one user table and not the other. I am running with a Plesk control panel for the site.

A: Plesk (and several other host/site control panels) do not allow different databases to share the same database user. With Plesk, you MUST have SMF and Mambo installed within the same database.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support forums.  Thank you.

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2007, 09:43:39 AM »
Q:  If I run into problems, should I uninstall and reinstall everything?

A:  No.  Doing that never solves the problem, and will only result in your own frustration.  Ask questions in the forum, and we will work out the actual problem.

Offline kai920

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 855
  • Gender: Male
  • its != it's
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2008, 01:27:19 AM »
By not including the Joomla template, I see there is less "stuff" in the <head> section, which would lead me to believe SMF would run faster and is more light-weight. Is this correct?

Could you shed light on some "behind the scenes" technicalities and advantages of wrapped vs. unwrapped, besides the obvious aesthetic differences?

Wrapped:  This indicates that the bridge is wrapped within the Mambo template.  This is accessed through Mambo.

Unwrapped:  This indicates that the bridge is not wrapped in the Mambo template.  This is accessed through Mambo.  The URL looks exactly the same as the wrapped setting, but the Mambo template is excluded.

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2008, 07:34:22 AM »
Quote
By not including the Joomla template, I see there is less "stuff" in the <head> section, which would lead me to believe SMF would run faster and is more light-weight. Is this correct?

No.  Everything that is loaded in the wrapped version is also loaded i the unwrapped version.  The only difference is in the display.

Offline Trulyana

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2008, 07:13:38 PM »
How do you get the SMF Bridge in the list of components, when you create a link from the menu to my bridge?

I am completetly new to this.

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2008, 07:14:43 PM »
When you install the bridge, it will automatically appear in the list of components.

Offline Alexist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2008, 09:00:33 PM »
When I trying to login in my SMF it won't working and it only work in Mambo and Community Builder but the registration of SMF is being redirected to Mambo page.

Updated:

8: Undefined property: stdClass::$login
File: /home/alexist/public_html/components/com_smf/smf.php
Line: 776

appearing when I'm trying to login in SMf
« Last Edit: June 28, 2008, 09:11:35 PM by Alexist »

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2008, 10:54:08 AM »
Go to your Mambo admin panel.

Go to the Modules Menu.  Click on Site Modules.

Find the mod_smf_login in the list of modules.  It might not be on the first page.  When you find it, click on it.

Set the parameters to your liking.  Click Save at the top of the page.  Even if you change nothing, click Save at the top of the page.

Offline kdreger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2008, 12:15:21 PM »
Totally confused!
Here is my setup:
Mambo: 4.6.5
SMF: 1.1.7
Bridge: 1.1.1
link to SMF Forum: www.hspig.org/mmsmf/ [nofollow]
Link to Mambo new install 10 minutes ago: www.hspig.org/mambo/ [nofollow]
Installed the latest Bridge COM, and added in ALL my SMF users with no problems.
Config path in Bridge: set and tested fine
SMF Forum registration is checked as Wrapped.
All the SMF values have been revised according to the docs provided to allow the bridge to work.
Use SMF CSS in other pages?: is marked YES
Synchronize Language from Mambo/Joomla to SMF?: Is marked Yes
Under Registration TAB:
SMF Forum integration: Use Bridge Registration is marked
Require Registration Agreement: YES
Send a SMF PM to the user on registration? YES
Use real name or username as display? REAL NAME
Comun Builder not installed.
GROUPS TAB
SMF Group

MamBot Manager:
SMF_Login PUBLISHED
SMF_Logout UNPUBLISHED
SMF_REGISTER UNPUBLISHED
SMF_USER_BAN UNPUBLISHED
SMF_USER, CHANGE & UNBAN & INCLUDE- UNPUBLISHED

What I want to achieve is for Mambo to take control over the SMF Foorum and have the SMF Forum be on the front page of the Mambo link, like a iFrame!  Then have the "Extras" that Mambo offers out on the Sidebars and other areas.
So far I have not been able to achieve this!  I can create a Button on the Left Side bar that links to the SMF Forum, but that is not what I want to see.

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks
Ken

« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 12:24:28 PM by kdreger »

Offline kdreger

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2008, 12:32:13 PM »
Never Mind, I resolved it!

Stupid me, This time when I created the link it DID Wrap into the Mambo Frame!

Anyway, thanks for listening
 :o
Ken

Offline DetroitIrish

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2008, 10:22:02 PM »
do mambo & smf have to be installed on the same database?

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2008, 12:25:05 AM »
No.

Offline mark7144

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,163
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2009, 10:18:14 PM »
So when I have Mambo and SMF bridged, how do I make it so the threads in my News board show as articles on Mambo?

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2009, 01:09:48 AM »
Are you using SMF 2.0 and the beta bridge?

Offline mark7144

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,163
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2009, 05:18:32 AM »
No, I'm using 1.1.8 and the latest stable release of Mambo.

I don't run any CMS, I just want for each SSI news article to have its own page rather for it to load in a thread when clicked on from my home page. Everything else I don't care about. So I assume converting my website to Mambo and then using this bridge is the best solution?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 05:21:01 AM by mark7144 »

Orstio

  • Guest
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2009, 08:23:15 AM »
SMF 1.1.8 and its bridge do not have this feature.  SMF 2.0 and its bridge do.

Offline mark7144

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,163
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2009, 08:31:39 AM »
Can you recommend anything for me? I don't need a CMS, my website is basically an SMF CMS using SSI.

I just want my news articles to have their own seperate non-forum pages when they are clicked on. I got part of the way there using this code but as you can see, it doesn't quite work when you click into the topic.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 08:34:59 AM by mark7144 »

Offline dextrous

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Gender: Male
    • Cricketvoice
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2009, 02:04:32 AM »
Are you using SMF 2.0 and the beta bridge?

please explain the process for 2.0! i have done everything else...just cannot seem to get the news feature to work

Offline alphagator

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Mambo Bridge FAQ
« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2010, 10:46:05 PM »
I am trying to get SMF bridge set up so that users have to login via Mambo and get automaticaly logged into SMF.

I want user accounts to sync up so that a changed password in mambo front end will change for SMF without additional user input.

I need registration via Mambo and any attempt to register in SMF to either redirect to Mambo or give the user an error message.

Currently none of my user accounts are syncing on their own. Password changes in Mambo are not flowing to SMF.

New registered accounts in Mambo are not propagating to SMF and users are still able to register in SMF despite my setting Mambo reg in the Bridge setting.