Advertisement:

Author Topic: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?  (Read 1726 times)

Offline 4Birdman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« on: May 02, 2012, 08:53:24 AM »
Right now it is default to be 960px or something like that. I really prefer to have it set as a %width. Any easy way to do this? I screwed around with it a little and only managed to fubar it.  :o I went back to the way it was for now. I really hate it being so narrow on my 24" monitor, and I know it would get annoying for the people who have smaller monitors if I make it fixed width to fit my monitor.

Can anyone help me?

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 09:02:10 AM »
Hi, welcome to SMF! :) Please attach index.template.php and index.css and I'll show you how to do it. :)

Offline 4Birdman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2012, 09:06:19 AM »
Thanks!

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2012, 09:09:59 AM »
Ok, I'm not sure what it looks like but this should do the trick. :)
Open index.css and find:
Code: [Select]
#page {
width: 960px;
margin: 0 auto;
padding: 20px 5px;
background: #FFFFFF;
}

/* Content */

#content {
width: 960px;
float: left;
}
And replace with:
Code: [Select]
#page {
width: 70%;
margin: 0 auto;
padding: 20px 5px;
background: #FFFFFF;
}

/* Content */

#content {
width: 70%;
float: left;
}

Don't forget to backup, though :P

Offline 4Birdman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2012, 09:27:40 AM »
Didn't work.  :(

The forum is hxxp:www.capitalfbody.com/forums [nonactive]

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2012, 09:40:19 AM »
Are you sure you have applied the changes correctly? :) It doesn't seem to display the changes (the css file still says 960 px). Also, try cleaning your forum cache. :)

Offline 4Birdman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2012, 09:47:51 AM »
I changed it back because it was looking goofy. I put it back to what you said and cleared the cache. See what it is doing?

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2012, 09:50:34 AM »
Ah I see. =/ I'm afraid it's because of the left blocks, I didn't think of that, sorry. :( I'll see what I can do :)

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2012, 09:54:26 AM »
Ok, please try changing this too:
Find
Code: [Select]
#content1 {
width: 780px;
float: left;
}
.links {
padding: 4px 0px;
text-align: right;
font-weight: bold;
}

.links a {
border: none;
}

.links a:hover {
}

/* Sidebars */

#sidebar1 {
float: left;
margin-top: -70px;
}

.sidebar {
float: left;
width: 180px;
padding: 0;
font-size: 12px;
}
With
Code: [Select]
#content1 {
width: 85%;
float: left;
}
.links {
padding: 4px 0px;
text-align: right;
font-weight: bold;
}

.links a {
border: none;
}

.links a:hover {
}

/* Sidebars */

#sidebar1 {
float: left;
margin-top: -70px;
}

.sidebar {
float: left;
width: 15%;
padding: 0;
font-size: 12px;
}

Offline 4Birdman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2012, 10:03:02 AM »
Great, that worked. The sidebar is a little chopped up now with the headings. Any way to make that a fixed width and then vary the width of the forum body?

THANKS!

Offline Kryzen

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,673
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to change to % width in ADK Cool Black 2.0?
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2012, 04:50:26 PM »
Sorry for getting back on this so late, but I saw you've changed the theme so I'll mark this topic as solved, unless this is still a problem. :)