Advertisement:

Author Topic: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0  (Read 9977 times)

Offline Dorian

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Gender: Male
  • Support my social project
    • A little about me
Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« on: March 18, 2008, 09:14:27 AM »
Is it possible to run and use SMF 1.1 and SMF 2.0 in the same database, so that I can access the boards and topics from both versions, including to register, post, and do all that stuff to the forums?
I'm your creativity creator:)

Offline karlbenson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,584
  • Gender: Male
    • @mortonssols on Twitter
    • Mortons Solicitors
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 09:20:32 AM »
You can have multiple BUT separate installations of smf in the same database.  Just use a different table prefix.

upload the files to a different location.
eg whereas your 1.1.x forum is at http://www.yoursite.com
have a test 2.x install at a different subfolder eg http://www.yoursite.com/test

Then when installing use a different prefix.

But note, posts/members in one, cannot be used in the other.  (in other words you can't link them)

Offline Paracelsus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Gender: Male
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 10:00:50 AM »
BTW, related to this subject, imagine that I have the situation you described karlbenson, using the same databse but with different tables:
eg whereas your 1.1.x forum is at http://www.yoursite.com
have a test 2.x install at a different subfolder eg http://www.yoursite.com/test

If I would want someday to 'replace' 1.1.x for that 2.x test version and keep http://www.yoursite.com as the domain with all the previous information (posts, users, etc) what would I need to do?

Offline karlbenson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,584
  • Gender: Male
    • @mortonssols on Twitter
    • Mortons Solicitors
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 10:11:50 AM »
When it comes time to upgrading your 1.x forum,  you'd use the upgrade package.

Replace all your 1.x files with 2.x versions
then run the upgrade.php

Offline Paracelsus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Gender: Male
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 10:29:06 AM »
Ok, I see...

Then if I would have been working on a custom theme + editing Source files and so on in that 2.x test subfolder, I would have to replace the recent 2.x upgraded files with those ones in the test subdomain (a 'simple' 2.x files for 2.x files overwrite)... is this assumption correct?

Offline karlbenson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,584
  • Gender: Male
    • @mortonssols on Twitter
    • Mortons Solicitors
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2008, 10:36:28 AM »
Yeah you could do that after the upgrade has finished.

Providing of course both file sets are the same version.

Offline Dorian

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Gender: Male
  • Support my social project
    • A little about me
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2008, 02:35:25 PM »
But note, posts/members in one, cannot be used in the other.  (in other words you can't link them)
Well, that's what I asked for.
OK, well then, if I can't, fine. :(
I'm your creativity creator:)

Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2008, 02:37:05 PM »
The database schemes are incompatible.

Sorry
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool
     

Offline karlbenson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,584
  • Gender: Male
    • @mortonssols on Twitter
    • Mortons Solicitors
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2008, 02:39:59 PM »
Let me clarify something that wasn't 100% clear from my message.

The database changes between 2.0 and 1.1.x are extensive.
In order to use an existing smf 1.1.x data with smf 2.0, you need to upgrade it.

Offline Dorian

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Gender: Male
  • Support my social project
    • A little about me
Re: Running SMF 1.1 and 2.0
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2008, 04:02:15 PM »
Yeah, but as said, I wanted both versions access the same database in order to use the forums from both versions. Linked. This is not possible without hacking up my SMF 1.1 to understand the database of 2.0 (the other way around would be fairly stupid).
My answer is no, that's fine, I better m,ark it as solved. ;)
Ah, well someone already did. :)
« Last Edit: March 18, 2008, 04:05:21 PM by Dorian »
I'm your creativity creator:)