Advertisement:
NameCheap

Author Topic: H1  (Read 5093 times)

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
H1
« on: April 12, 2012, 11:53:30 AM »
The forum needs a real H1 for SEO purpose, it really should be there as default.

Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,110
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
    • IchBin.us
Re: H1
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 02:31:53 PM »
That's what the forum title is.
Brad "IchBin™" Grow        TinyPortal        Themes
Coding Guidelines       

Offline Antechinus

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,802
  • Master of BBC Abuse
Re: H1
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 03:13:29 PM »
:D It's right where it ought to be.

Code: [Select]
<body>
<div id="wrapper" style="width: 90%;">
<div id="header"><div class="frame">
<div id="top_section">
<h1 class="forumtitle">

Happy?
Mods - Manky Old Themes - Apocalypse theme (WIP)

Going through 2.0.x in detail is like picking through something that dropped out of the rear end of a vulture. Every couple of seconds I'm like "Oooo, that's gruesome. WTF is that doing in there?"

It doesn't matter if the glass is half empty or half full. There is clearly room for more beer.

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2012, 05:33:10 AM »
Well, i know the title is H1.

I am talking about the heading 1 (h1), the first thing in the body as in:

"• Write your header tags prominently at the beginning of your content, ideally after the <body> tag."

If you run a SMF forum in an on-page software tool you actually scores -10 points as there are no H1 to be found.


Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 05:37:46 AM »
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline Antechinus

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 22,802
  • Master of BBC Abuse
Re: H1
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2012, 05:40:37 AM »
Well, i know the title is H1.

I am talking about the heading 1 (h1), the first thing in the body as in:

"• Write your header tags prominently at the beginning of your content, ideally after the <body> tag."

If you run a SMF forum in an on-page software tool you actually scores -10 points as there are no H1 to be found.


There is an h1 to be found. It's right where I showed you. That's what an h1 is: a html tag that is used to denote the primary heading for the page. If you have some software tool that tells you there is no h1, then methinks said tool is borken.
Mods - Manky Old Themes - Apocalypse theme (WIP)

Going through 2.0.x in detail is like picking through something that dropped out of the rear end of a vulture. Every couple of seconds I'm like "Oooo, that's gruesome. WTF is that doing in there?"

It doesn't matter if the glass is half empty or half full. There is clearly room for more beer.

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2012, 05:43:43 AM »
That, too :)

Probably the tool searches on root-level of the document, something which it shouldn't do.
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2012, 05:44:21 AM »
Read this:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=427913.0

Well, it want hurt to optimize the forum on specific keywords, content for sure gets you traffic but optimizing for some keywords gets the forum up in the serp for sure.

I've done a little SEO on my forum and the mainurl now ranks on position 3 in Google for those keywords I have optimized on.

Here is a on-page submission on this forum using "simple machines" as keyword. Even though the title has "simple machines" in it, there is no H1 main headline to be found on the on-page of the forum.

"H1 - H1 does not contain the keyword.

H1, a Web page's main headline. Search engines use to determine what the page is about. Having the keyword in H1 is therefore very important. -10 points"

Here is the submission itself, it's in Swedish so you'll have to translate it.

http://www.sokmotorkonsult.se/verktyg/onpage/resultat/tS4aT8kv578_/

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2012, 06:33:21 AM »
That, too :)

Probably the tool searches on root-level of the document, something which it shouldn't do.

The tool searches on-page on the landing-page of the url and the guy who has developed it, well, let's say he knows his stuff about SEO.

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2012, 06:35:39 AM »
That, too :)

Probably the tool searches on root-level of the document, something which it shouldn't do.

The tool searches on-page on the landing-page of the url.
Probably not correctly, because there IS a <h1> tag. Just not in the root of the document.
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2012, 06:58:38 AM »
If you view the on-page sourcecode, there is no H1 to be found.

Code: [Select]
<meta name="title" content="Investera i Guld - Investera i Silver - Ädelmetallforum.se - Index" />
<title>Investera i Guld - Investera i Silver - Ädelmetallforum.se - Index</title>

Code: [Select]
<meta name="description" content="Simple Machines Community Forum - Index" />
<title>Simple Machines Community Forum - Index</title>

Could that be what is causing this?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2012, 07:10:19 AM by crobbe »

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2012, 07:15:20 AM »
Excuse me, I think I have to give you right :)
When adding a logo into the Default theme the <h1> tag goes away and is replaced by <img>, I see on your site.
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2012, 07:17:57 AM »
Excuse me, I think I have to give you right :)
When adding a logo into the Default theme the <h1> tag goes away and is replaced by <img>, I see on your site.

See :-)

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2012, 07:29:42 AM »
Excuse me, I think I have to give you right :)
When adding a logo into the Default theme the <h1> tag goes away and is replaced by <img>, I see on your site.

See :-)
You can fire a bug report if you want to, I think there's no way we can squeeze a <img> tag in a <h1> tag though :P
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2012, 07:34:27 AM »
Excuse me, I think I have to give you right :)
When adding a logo into the Default theme the <h1> tag goes away and is replaced by <img>, I see on your site.

See :-)
You can fire a bug report if you want to, I think there's no way we can squeeze a <img> tag in a <h1> tag though :P

I understand that but can you have one <h1> and one <img>, wouldn't that solve the problem.

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2012, 07:35:32 AM »
Yes, but where are you going to squeeze the <h1> to?
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2012, 07:38:48 AM »
Yes, but where are you going to squeeze the <h1> to?

I am just spinning but how about here? See pic.

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2012, 07:44:08 AM »
Yes, but where are you going to squeeze the <h1> to?

I am just spinning but how about here? See pic.
That's possible I guess, try this:

index.template.php
Code: (Find) [Select]
', empty($settings['site_slogan']) ? '<img id="smflogo" src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/smflogo.png" alt="Simple Machines Forum" title="Simple Machines Forum" />' : '<div id="siteslogan" class="floatright">' . $settings['site_slogan'] . '</div>', '
Code: (Replace) [Select]
', empty($settings['site_slogan']) ? '<img id="smflogo" src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/smflogo.png" alt="Simple Machines Forum" title="Simple Machines Forum" />' : '<h1><div id="siteslogan" class="floatright">' . $settings['site_slogan'] . '</div></h1>', '
That'll make your site slogan H1'ed. Medunno's if that craps up the style.
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."

Offline crobbe

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • Ädelmetallforum
Re: H1
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2012, 08:02:54 AM »
Yes, but where are you going to squeeze the <h1> to?

I am just spinning but how about here? See pic.
That's possible I guess, try this:

index.template.php
Code: (Find) [Select]
', empty($settings['site_slogan']) ? '<img id="smflogo" src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/smflogo.png" alt="Simple Machines Forum" title="Simple Machines Forum" />' : '<div id="siteslogan" class="floatright">' . $settings['site_slogan'] . '</div>', '
Code: (Replace) [Select]
', empty($settings['site_slogan']) ? '<img id="smflogo" src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/smflogo.png" alt="Simple Machines Forum" title="Simple Machines Forum" />' : '<h1><div id="siteslogan" class="floatright">' . $settings['site_slogan'] . '</div></h1>', '
That'll make your site slogan H1'ed. Medunno's if that craps up the style.

That actually went PERFECT, AWESOME, thanks.

It now scores +10 on H1 :-)

http://www.adelmetallforum.se/

Online NanoSector

  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,031
  • Gender: Male
    • rick2288 on Facebook
    • Yoshi2889 on GitHub
    • Test Server
Re: H1
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2012, 08:04:02 AM »
Great, does the validator now give you the +10 points you deserve? :P
My Mods / Mod Builder - A tool to easily create mods / Support team member
"I've heard from a reliable source that the Answer is 42. But, still no word on what the question is."