SMF Support > SMF 2.0.x Support

Weird E-Mail spam to members of my forum

(1/6) > >>

cgallery:
Running 2.0.2

Got a PM from a user of my SMF forum this morning.  He had received an E-Mail from me that was some sort of spam (with links that don't anywhere).  Interestingly enough, I had received a similar E-Mail from myself a few days ago, but chalked it up to spammers sometimes using your own E-Mail address as the from.  Anyway, when he told me he had received one, I realized the only thing he and I have in common is that we're bothm members of my forum.

I've included the message source for the E-Mail he received below.  I have made consistent edits to change the E-Mail addresses and domains involved.  But I was consistent in my changes throughout the message source.

The E-Mail we both received was garbage.  The links were invalid.  But I'm wondering if someone is beginning to figure-out a SMF vulnerability?  Or is this something else?  Any ideas where to start looking?

Thanks!
Phil





From - Thu Aug 02 08:49:51 2012
X-Account-Key: account1
X-UIDL: 19603-1157667445
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
X-Mozilla-Keys:                                                                                 
Content-Type: text/plain;
   charset="iso-8859-1"
Return-Path: <phi@cgaller.com>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Received: from mmp0-v0.bendbroadband.net ([192.168.17.141]) by msgs1.bendbroadband.net (Sun Java System Messaging Server 6.2-7.04 (built Aug 17 2006)) with ESMTP id <0M84002RMWUWF180@msgs1.bendbroadband.net> for tpde@bencable.com; Thu, 02 Aug 2012 08:40:08 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com ([192.168.17.146]) by s1mq0.benbroadband.net (Sun Java System Messaging Server 6.2-3.04 (built Jul 15 2005)) with ESMTP id <0M8400LYKX1BR920@s1mq0.benbroadband.net> for tpde@bencable.com (ORCPT tpde@bencable.com); Thu, 02 Aug 2012 08:44:06 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail.tichapmanministries.com (HELO ns56.webmasters.com) ([66.230.220.200]) by c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com with SMTP; Thu, 02 Aug 2012 08:44:05 -0700
Received: (qmail 23017 invoked by uid 2526); Thu, 02 Aug 2012 15:43:45 +0000
Date: Thu, 02 Aug 2012 15:43:45 +0000
From: "gsgkqm@eexoot.com" <phi@cgaller.com>
Subject: tRMLjBklXxXnfKWTRT
X-SpamFlt-Status: Not Detected
X-KASFlt-Status: Lua profiles 35274 [Aug 02 2012]
X-KASFlt-Status: Rate: 0
X-KASFlt-Status: Status: not_detected
X-KASFlt-Status: Method: none
X-KASFlt-Status: Version: 5.0.1
X-SpamFlt-Phishing: Not Detected
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.1.7601.17609
To: <tpde@bencable.com>
Reply-To: <gsgkqm@eexoot.com>
Message-ID: <20120802154345.23013.qmail@ns56.webmasters.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: SMF
Authentication-Results: c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com; dkim=neutral (message not signed) header.i=none
Received-SPF: None (c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com: no sender  authenticity information available from domain of  phi@cgaller.com) identity=pra; client-ip=66.230.220.200;  receiver=c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com; envelope-from="phi@cgaller.com";  x-sender="phi@cgaller.com"; x-conformance=sidf_compatible
Received-SPF: Pass (c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com: domain of  phi@cgaller.com designates 66.230.220.200 as permitted  sender) identity=mailfrom; client-ip=66.230.220.xxx;  receiver=c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com; envelope-from="phi@cgaller.com";  x-sender="phi@cgaller.com"; x-conformance=sidf_compatible;  x-record-type="v=spf1"
Received-SPF: None (c650-1.noc.bendbroadband.com: no sender  authenticity information available from domain of  postmaster@ns56.webmasters.com) identity=helo;  client-ip=66.230.220.xxx; receiver=c650-1.noc.benbroadband.com;  envelope-from="phi@cgaller.com"; x-sender="postmaster@ns56.webmasters.com";  x-conformance=sidf_compatible
X-Cloudmark-SP-Filtered: true
X-Cloudmark-SP-Result: v=1.1 cv=y0zQAPOssad0jT3MQoRBE0Twb/cYy7/vT9zoQXdJ1+k= c=1 sm=1 a=PP_YKxf0_hQA:10 a=QBjFdofbnPoA:10 a=LxDXLqCVAHsA:10 a=AjZ/6lLzmpwAaqqFYfTfYw==:17 a=pviSs9pIAAAA:8 a=ioegJCa9AAAA:8 a=jsLzB_QjAAAA:8 a=vcWJOPMYAAAA:8 a=cO7zPziZCamBTGQT_isA:9 a=wPNLvfGTeEIA:10 a=HpAAvcLHHh0Zw7uRqdWCyQ==:117
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Filtered: true
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Result: AgMPAGmfGlBC5tzIX2dsb2JhbABFgyykfYgSh04EgRceTQQ/gwSBAYg6m0mGTpsmgkKJTYMigxwDlUYBgRSRWA
X-IronPort-AV: E=Sophos;i="4.77,701,1336374000";   d="scan'208";a="78988406"
Original-recipient: rfc822;tpde@bencable.com

Storman™:
No idea ! But make sure your email on the server isn't set-up as an open relay:

What is an Open Relay ?

Also, check the obvious like their email address isn't publicly visible on the forum. I had member query something similar once and only to find out that they put their email address in a post which subsequently got spammed to hell.

cgallery:
Not an open relay, and the ISP verified that the E-Mail originated from the machine on which I host SMF.

So seeing as the E-Mail was from ME (the site's admin) and was to a participant of the forum, and was sent via the same server on which SMF runs, I'm thinking there may be a security hole somewhere in the way I have SMF configured, or in SMF itself.

Have to do more research.

Arantor:
What was the content of the email?

Is there anything else installed on the same server? Any other hosting accounts? What mods do you have?

There are still a *lot* of possibilities before throwing around 'vulnerability in SMF' as an accusation.

cgallery:

--- Quote from: Arantor on August 03, 2012, 03:05:36 PM ---What was the content of the email?

Is there anything else installed on the same server? Any other hosting accounts? What mods do you have?

There are still a *lot* of possibilities before throwing around 'vulnerability in SMF' as an accusation.

--- End quote ---

Here is the E-Mail I had received:

*****
From: Phil Thien
Subject: Deovfqwozk
Reply to: czdact@yfgtnh.com
To: Phil Thien

R5LK8o  <a href="http://dmcmawffbngt.com/">dmcmawffbngt</a>, xgftalbttpdq,
[link=http://rctmyqdnzhyt.com/]rctmyqdnzhyt[/link], http://rmqgzgngepdj.com/
*****

The only mod I have is "Stop Forum Spam 1.0."

The site is hosted by Webmasters, I know for a fact that there are other sites hosted on the same server.

Not casting accusations.  But the to/froms are members of the forum, and don't exist in the same universe anywhere else.  And also because the mail originated on the same server where the the two/from members exist, and the forum is hosted.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version