Archived Boards and Threads... > SMF Feedback and Discussion

Copyright removal report

<< < (4/5) > >>

(F.L.A.M.E.R):
I guess everything is sorted and explained properly :)

Just a word of advice for everyone who have done or are going to do any alterations to the copyright in future, knowingly or unknowingly: If you want to avoid instant suspension, then contact your host and ask them their policies regarding copyright breach and how much time do they give you to fix the issue. Otherwise, you may end up in a few uncalled issues. :)

krazytim:
Thanks Flamer. This issue is resolved on the SMF end, still finding out why my host didn't contact me first.

I have been with them since March of 2006, so just about 5 years now. They shouldn't have acted before contacting me.

青山 素子:

--- Quote from: (F.L.A.M.E.R) on February 11, 2011, 05:50:59 PM ---Just a word of advice for everyone who have done or are going to do any alterations to the copyright in future, knowingly or unknowingly: If you want to avoid instant suspension, then contact your host and ask them their policies regarding copyright breach and how much time do they give you to fix the issue. Otherwise, you may end up in a few uncalled issues. :)

--- End quote ---

Even better, don't use the scam called "registration protection" or "private registration". Aside from looking somewhat suspicious (I generally won't do business with a company that feels it has to hide its domain WHOIS info for this reason), it also means that the registrant listed is the legal owner of the domain. Yes, it means you don't own the domain should something happen to your registrar. I recall back when RegisterFly shut down. Those hiding their information were left dangling while those who could match the WHOIS were able to get their domain handled.

Oh, and a simple DMCA notice to the "protection" company will usually get your info unmasked within 24 hours. It's really not worth the cost if they will be so willing to do that and if it also makes them the legal domain owners.

eyo:
smf is serious business  8)

Paracelsus:
Actually, there should be a form for this, since there isn´t:

http://serbenfiquista.com/forum/index.php

The site above has illegally removed their copyright.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version