Advertisement:
NameCheap

Author Topic: Curve Mobile  (Read 36841 times)

Offline Ben_S

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,677
  • xxx
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #20 on: December 15, 2009, 07:48:54 PM »
Looking good, only negative I see so far is there are no page number at the bottom so you need to scroll up to navigate between pages in a topic / board.
Liverpool FC Forum with 9 million+ posts.

Offline Eliana Tamerin

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,506
  • Gender: Female
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2009, 12:58:32 PM »
Dragooon, did you forget Android and Blackberry support?

Code: [Select]
// Load all the agents for smart phones.
// name of device, string to look for
$user_agents = array(
array('iPhone', 'iPhone'),
array('iPod', 'iPod'),
array('PocketIE', 'IEMobile'),
array('Opera Mini', isset($_SERVER['HTTP_X_OPERAMINI_PHONE_UA'])),
array('Opera Mobile', 'Opera Mobi'),
);

My Android phone identifies as none of those. And my own attempts at a solution haven't proved helpful. My Android user agent, though, shows up as:

Mozilla/5.0 (Linux: U; Android 1.6; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KTHML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

The 1.6, T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83 parts are likely to change in various versions (especially considering the Droid/Milestone, Eris/Hero and Nexus One all running different versions from mine). Any way to capture just the "Android" portion?

Hope that helps.
Do NOT PM me for support.

SimplePortal 2.3.5 is OUT!
SimplePortal Project Manager
Download | Docs
SimplePortal: Power of Simplicity!

Offline RawDepth

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #22 on: December 21, 2009, 06:45:27 PM »
Can this mod be installed if I have EzPortal installed? No other mods are installed.

I really want to make my forum .mobi friendly.

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #23 on: December 23, 2009, 10:22:50 PM »
Its not a mod but a theme. And it can be installed however the sidepanels will be displayed(Which is really bad for a small screen). I could not find a way to disable the sidepanels of EZPortal.

Offline Eliana Tamerin

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,506
  • Gender: Female
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #24 on: December 23, 2009, 10:26:21 PM »
Can this mod be installed if I have EzPortal installed? No other mods are installed.

I really want to make my forum .mobi friendly.

This is something that the portal softwares have to make overtures for first. SimplePortal has done this by allowing themers the option of setting $settings['disable_sp'] = true;. Tinyportal and PortaMX have a similar ability. EzPortal will need to code this functionality into their portal first before Curve Mobile can utilize it.
Do NOT PM me for support.

SimplePortal 2.3.5 is OUT!
SimplePortal Project Manager
Download | Docs
SimplePortal: Power of Simplicity!

Offline RawDepth

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #25 on: December 26, 2009, 07:10:31 AM »
Its not a mod but a theme. And it can be installed however the sidepanels will be displayed(Which is really bad for a small screen). I could not find a way to disable the sidepanels of EZPortal.

I only have the side panels enabled for the home page. All forum and index pages display full width.

This is something that the portal softwares have to make overtures for first. SimplePortal has done this by allowing themers the option of setting $settings['disable_sp'] = true;. Tinyportal and PortaMX have a similar ability. EzPortal will need to code this functionality into their portal first before Curve Mobile can utilize it.

Doesn't this theme come with an auto-detect feature? I wonder if it could be made to skip my home page and go straight to the index page, (where it won't encounter the side panels.)
« Last Edit: December 26, 2009, 07:17:24 AM by RawDepth »

Offline Eliana Tamerin

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 5,506
  • Gender: Female
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #26 on: December 26, 2009, 10:30:55 AM »
It auto-detects your mobile phone (with the mod). It can't disable something where there's no option to. Your portal works on layers, something that every theme, including Curve Mobile, includes. Nothing Curve Mobile can do can override those layers unless the software implementing those layers makes an effort to allow such.
Do NOT PM me for support.

SimplePortal 2.3.5 is OUT!
SimplePortal Project Manager
Download | Docs
SimplePortal: Power of Simplicity!

Offline doughboy99

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #27 on: December 27, 2009, 07:30:28 PM »
On my iPod Touch(thanks Santa) the search box, main menu and the link to the fi=orum at the bottom of the screen all display in a very small font. In portrait mode it so small as to be unreadable. On my Nokia these are the same size font as the rest of the text on the screen.

In general too the overall font size seems quite small. Its not too bad in landscape but in portrait is uncomfortable to read unless I zoom in a bit which I then have to scroll horizontally.
Is this as intended? If so can I change it?

Thanks for a great theme.

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #28 on: December 27, 2009, 11:37:46 PM »
I actually have to optimize it for iDevices, I know it has some problems with the portrait mode(I use it very less on my iTouch so I never realised it).

Offline TemperamentalMan

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2010, 10:41:30 AM »
Dragooon, did you forget Android and Blackberry support?

Code: [Select]
// Load all the agents for smart phones.
// name of device, string to look for
$user_agents = array(
array('iPhone', 'iPhone'),
array('iPod', 'iPod'),
array('PocketIE', 'IEMobile'),
array('Opera Mini', isset($_SERVER['HTTP_X_OPERAMINI_PHONE_UA'])),
array('Opera Mobile', 'Opera Mobi'),
);

My Android phone identifies as none of those. And my own attempts at a solution haven't proved helpful. My Android user agent, though, shows up as:

Mozilla/5.0 (Linux: U; Android 1.6; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KTHML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1

The 1.6, T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83 parts are likely to change in various versions (especially considering the Droid/Milestone, Eris/Hero and Nexus One all running different versions from mine). Any way to capture just the "Android" portion?

Hope that helps.

I too am wondering about this.  I am especially concerned about the Blackberry devices.  They seem to still default to the WAP site.  Which file is the code listed above located in?  And is there a simple change I can use to implement Blackberry support?  This looks amazing, but most of my users will be BB :(

Thanks in advance!!!  I appreciate what you've done for the community.

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #30 on: January 04, 2010, 03:30:02 PM »
The latest version of mod should detect blackberry.

Offline doughboy99

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #31 on: January 05, 2010, 05:21:41 PM »
This isnt switching automatially on my Nokia E63

User agent shows as:

Mozilla/5.0 (symbianos/9.2: u; series 60/3.1 nokiae63-1/100.21.110; profile/mid-2.0 configuration/cldc-1.1) AppleWebKit/413 (khtml, like gecko) Safari/413

If that helps

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #32 on: January 06, 2010, 02:42:05 AM »
Arghhhh....the "series 60" has a space in between. Try the updates package that I just uploaded(Curve mobile mod version 1.1.1).

Offline doughboy99

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2010, 07:29:58 AM »
That seems to have fixed it for my Nokia thanks.


Offline TemperamentalMan

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #34 on: January 06, 2010, 01:16:43 PM »
Arghhhh....the "series 60" has a space in between. Try the updates package that I just uploaded(Curve mobile mod version 1.1.1).

Where is the updated version?

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #35 on: January 06, 2010, 10:50:18 PM »
On the theme page.

Offline bork

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #36 on: January 10, 2010, 08:09:57 AM »

I've installed the theme and the mod but using a S60 phone the theme is not being selected.

Are there any settings that need to be tweaked?

Online Dragooon

  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 6,334
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm batman
    • ShitizGarg on Facebook
    • Dragooon on GitHub
    • dragooon on LinkedIn
    • SMF-Media
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #37 on: January 10, 2010, 08:35:16 AM »
Did you install the latest mod?

Offline bork

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #38 on: January 10, 2010, 09:02:45 AM »

I installed v1.1.1

Does user-selectable themes need to be selected?

Offline bork

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: Curve Mobile
« Reply #39 on: January 10, 2010, 09:41:19 AM »

It's working now :)

I think I needed to delete the file cache from admin and it looks fine on the phone now.

Thanks a lot for a great theme, it'll make my users very happy  8)