Advertisement:
NameCheap

Author Topic: Portal Question  (Read 2443 times)

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Portal Question
« on: April 02, 2012, 06:31:59 PM »
Do any other portal options offer a MAINTENANCE MODE like SimplePortal does where you can install the portal,  turn on the maintenance mode where only admins see the portal so one can set it up before "go live"  rather than going live and then setting it up nicely...  I can only find that option on Simple Portal ...

Thanks!

Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2012, 06:33:54 PM »
Are you having problems with SP?

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2012, 06:49:38 PM »
Actually... 3 of the 4 majors install with issues... 2 of them minor "button" issues (I modified the button code so it errors out) which is an easy fix for me and then SMF which errors out with a number of button issues (no problem) and one issue that caused me to look elsewhere...

when it searches for:

Code: [Select]
if (empty($parse_tags) || in_array($code['tag'], $parse_tags))
$bbc_codes[substr($code['tag'], 0, 1)][] = $code;
}
$codes = null;
}

It errors out.  I found the code as been modified... not sure which mod did it but it has been modified... this is what i currently have:

Code: [Select]
foreach ($codes as $c)
$bbc_codes[substr($c['tag'], 0, 1)][] = $c;
$codes = null;

So I am not sure exactly what to do.   Rather than overwrite the code and hope for the best I was looking at other options.  I like TinyPortal but I'd really rather setup my portal before I go live with it...  and I am not sure what to do with Simple Portal at this point.

Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 07:01:47 PM »
* Old Fossil has absolutely no idea what the previous post is trying to say.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2012, 07:04:44 PM »
When i attempt to install Simple Portal via the package manager I get some errors... I posted them above.  Nevermind... back to my original question...

:)

Does anyone know of another portal that offers a way to set it up prior to going live like Simple Portal?

Thanks!


Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2012, 07:11:11 PM »
Which files are the errors from?

You can always ask on www.simpleportal.net OR their own support topic.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2012, 07:15:35 PM »
Sorry... subs...

Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2012, 07:18:09 PM »

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2012, 07:21:48 PM »
When I click that link I get:

Quote
An Error Has Occurred!
Sorry, but the modification could not be parsed.

Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2012, 07:23:19 PM »
When I click that link I get:

Quote
An Error Has Occurred!
Sorry, but the modification could not be parsed.

Try it on 2.0.1

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2012, 07:26:26 PM »
I am getting that error when I click your link... I am confused now...

:)

How can I click your link using version 2.0.1?

:)


Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2012, 07:27:57 PM »
Go to the mods page.

Below the mods download is a parse button.

Choose 2.0.1 on the list.

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2012, 07:32:03 PM »
What am I looking for?   I think we are not on the same page or something.

I know that it throws out an error when I attempt to install... and I know why (it can't find the text string posted above)... I just need to know WHERE/HOW i go about installing the code that is supposed to replace the code that isn't there... being that the code that isn't there has been previously modified.

I've asked the question in the proper support thread.   

Thanks.

Now... does anyone know about my original question by chance?

;)


Offline Old Fossil

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,954
  • Gender: Male
  • Fussy Old Sod
    • MKComm on Facebook
    • @mkcommforum on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2012, 07:41:40 PM »
If you want I can take a look for you.


Offline lurkalot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 554
  • Gender: Male
  • Tinyportal Support
    • guitaristguild on Facebook
    • @GuitaristGuild on Twitter
    • CameraCraniums
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2012, 07:49:20 PM »
What am I looking for?   I think we are not on the same page or something.

I know that it throws out an error when I attempt to install... and I know why (it can't find the text string posted above)... I just need to know WHERE/HOW i go about installing the code that is supposed to replace the code that isn't there... being that the code that isn't there has been previously modified.

I've asked the question in the proper support thread.   

Thanks.

Now... does anyone know about my original question by chance?

;)



Go here http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1104  Look to the right hand side of the page

Choose your version of SP, and your version of SMF, then click the parse button.  It will show you what edits need to be made to which files. 

And your original question.  I know Tinyportal doesn't have that option, but you can set your blocks up without anyone else seeing them, except for you as admin.  Guests and members etc will however have a rather bare front page until you make your blocks live.
Tinyportal support team.
Coppermine Gallery support team.

Camera Craniums Running SMF 2.0.7 / Tinyportal 1.0, bridged with Coppermine 1.5.26, SMF Arcade 2.5 RC2

Guitarist Guild Running SMF 2.0.7 / Tinyportal 1.0

Offline FrizzleFried

  • Drama-Monger
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2012, 07:52:01 PM »
What am I looking for?   I think we are not on the same page or something.

I know that it throws out an error when I attempt to install... and I know why (it can't find the text string posted above)... I just need to know WHERE/HOW i go about installing the code that is supposed to replace the code that isn't there... being that the code that isn't there has been previously modified.

I've asked the question in the proper support thread.   

Thanks.

Now... does anyone know about my original question by chance?

;)



Go here http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1104  Look to the right hand side of the page

Choose your version of SP, and your version of SMF, then click the parse button.  It will show you what edits need to be made to which files. 

And your original question.  I know Tinyportal doesn't have that option, but you can set your blocks up without anyone else seeing them, except for you as admin.  Guests and members etc will however have a rather bare front page until you make your blocks live.

Yeah,  I was hoping to not even show that a portal was active until "go live"...

As for the edits.  Thanks,  but I am aware of the edits needing to be made.  The problem is that one of the edits needing to be made (a REPLACE edit) searches for a string that isn't there anymore... as it's been modified... because of that,  I am not sure where to put the edit or what to replace (since what is supposed to be replaced isn't there any more)...

:)

Offline Kindred

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 37,605
  • Gender: Male
  • Red Sox WIN!
    • wagner999 on Facebook
    • www.linkedin.com/in/wdwagner/ on LinkedIn
    • @Kindred_999 on Twitter
Re: Portal Question
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2012, 08:58:22 PM »
You're going to bump into that. You need to find the target line, and use human knowledge to make the edits work together.  Mostly, it's not actually that difficult to figure it out.

See the wiki search for error on mod installation
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support forums.  Thank you.