Simple Machines Community Forum

Customizing SMF => Graphics and Templates => Theme Previews => Topic started by: Bloc on October 23, 2014, 06:37:27 PM

Title: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 23, 2014, 06:37:27 PM
(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.blocthemes.net%2Fdemos%2Falphacentauri.jpg&hash=e2941583d2014bc3be2dc8e16b31b484)

AlphaCentauri is space-inspired theme with many of the same features as the Studio themes.

As those themes the main difference from regular SMF themes is that it installs as a mod - which also installs the BAC - Blocthemes Admin Center. This section is a work in progress, but for now will give you news from blocthemes site and the current theme options. You can upload just the theme as well, from the mod zip file - but its theme options will only show inside the BAC.

Theme options:

- path to your own logo
- upload your own logo and auto-insert it as your new one
- set background picture
- upload new background picture
- social network links for Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest
- use your own copyright, and select its position(above or below normal copyright)
- hide the normal theme notice/copyright(it will still show inside the source code, but not on the page)

Demo:
http://www.blocthemes.net/demos/index.php?theme=10

Download from the blocthemes site(requires being logged in)
http://blocthemes.net/index.php?topic=37

Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Burke ♞ Knight on October 23, 2014, 06:42:08 PM
Nice theme.

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fbkd.pw%2Fdk_like.png&hash=6ed3e23fd6f060580065ebe576e1c341)
 
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: BryanD on October 23, 2014, 06:44:32 PM
bloc as always excellent work, I love seeing your new themes ::)
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: ARG01 on October 23, 2014, 07:23:12 PM
Very nice.  ;)
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Diego Andrés on October 23, 2014, 10:30:05 PM
Not a big fan of the font, but it's a great theme.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Rumpa on October 23, 2014, 11:20:08 PM
nice theme. and mobile friendly theme.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 24, 2014, 01:08:40 AM
Thanks all, for the comments. :)

Not a big fan of the font, but it's a great theme.
You know, I was just thinking the same yesterday.."that font might not suit everyone". :D Gonna add an option to select other fonts I think.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: radu81 on October 24, 2014, 02:54:29 AM
nice work, congrats!
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Shambles on October 24, 2014, 04:29:55 AM
It's not often I praise a theme, and I'm not going to start now  8)

Actually, I am - it's really nice, so I've grabbed a copy, thanks  ;D
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 24, 2014, 11:42:20 AM
YW :) No strings attached, I am doing it for the pure joy of working with design/code. The reason you have to register at blocthemes is purely to able to reach people when updates come out(if they don't use the package server).

And many thanks for the praise. :)
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 24, 2014, 11:44:38 AM
nice theme. and mobile friendly theme.
Yes, thats one of my personal requirements when working with these themes - being able to have the same theme on mobiles and look decent there too. No "mobile-only" themes, one should be seeing same colors and almost same design on all mediums IMO.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Kindred on October 24, 2014, 02:34:10 PM
I like it...  (and BTW I like the font)

slightly off topic... but any chance of doing a new theme like the old "enterprise" theme that is mobile optimized? :)
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 24, 2014, 03:52:02 PM
You mean like a Star Trek inspired theme? Or a theme with similar graphic style to Enterprise?

I am always open to ideas. :) AlphaCentauri was actually a very old design I doubt many remember today..but it was posted on blocweb some years back, as a draft-only. Took a second look and found it to be worth putting into a theme recently.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Antechinus on October 24, 2014, 03:59:46 PM
Hmm, my first impression was "Curve variant". It's nice and clean though. I notice you kept most of the default markup (tables, etc). Presumably this is for ease of mod installation.

Installing via the package manager is interesting. Presumably it still installs as a theme rather than a mod, as far as db tables, etc are concerned.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Shambles on October 24, 2014, 04:01:39 PM
There's an issue with 2nd tier (sub-)menus not opening. When I get some time I'll document it (or find the fault).


Re: installation: I had to renew the graphics files as they all seemed to copy in corrupted. No real deal - easy to copy over from the extracted package.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 24, 2014, 05:40:04 PM
Hmm, my first impression was "Curve variant". It's nice and clean though. I notice you kept most of the default markup (tables, etc). Presumably this is for ease of mod installation.

Installing via the package manager is interesting. Presumably it still installs as a theme rather than a mod, as far as db tables, etc are concerned.
Yes, in these intial themes..but y know, that might change lol. UrbamLife, which I am planning to resume, will change a lot again.

Yes, it installs as a theme..but with a twist, the current theme options only show a reduced set(the default minus things the theme does not support) and the actual theme options(with among other things a color changer and image uploader) will only show in the mods admin section. I am sure someone can re-jig it to work normally..but my point with it is to allow options that are more powerful and centralized. And of course, being a mod, makes it easy to update and see if your copy is older.

There's an issue with 2nd tier (sub-)menus not opening. When I get some time I'll document it (or find the fault).


Re: installation: I had to renew the graphics files as they all seemed to copy in corrupted. No real deal - easy to copy over from the extracted package.
If you see whats wrong, let me know. Beware though that second-level menus ONLY show the menus for the active menu item - not the others. This is a touch-friendly approach. But if there are glitches/bugs with it I appreciate any tip.

The graphic files yes..I noticed it myself, wondering if its anything to do with my zipping program. Will check that further.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Shambles on October 25, 2014, 03:51:49 AM
Quote
There's an issue with 2nd tier (sub-)menus not opening...

I have very many errors in the log, covering a large number of "undefined" events.

Here's one of them:

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2Ff0KNXHZ.png&hash=d1fac341b21c68ce378f0196d9ec6152)

There are lots more, especially in Sources\Blocthemes.php. I'm really short on time today but I'll have a closer look over the weekend.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on October 25, 2014, 04:12:08 AM
ah yes, I just discovered that too :P It will be fixed shortly, its an error in my theme menu code causing it.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Kindred on February 04, 2015, 02:44:03 PM
I am using this on the rebuilt 40Konline.com site...   very nice.

I love the way the menu turns to icons on mobile devices...

two questions...
1- did you ever fix the active_button problem?   I got 500+ pages of this error message using the theme downloaded form your site a week ago.
2- how are the menu icons determined?   I installed a few mods, and the generic circle icon got used for their menu objects... I'd like to be able to specify the icon to be used...


one additional comment...

I am sure that it was specific to the site/server...  but it would not install as a mod. Gave me errors (my capture of the actual error is on my other PC)
so I manually added the theme directory, manually added the default template and language and source file and loaded the install script.
(had to chand the installs script to run using SSI.php so I can manually run that script.)

Over all, a nice theme
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on February 04, 2015, 07:43:41 PM
It was fixed..but I think it may not have been uploaded, I'll check.

The menu icons is a sprite; images/theme/menubuttons.png. And the css code is within index.css:
Code: [Select]
@media only screen and (max-width: 1200px), only screen and (min-resolution: 200dpi) {
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a span { display: none; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a { display: block; height: 40px;  }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a { opacity: 0.4; width: 100%; height: 40px; background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% 0; }

#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_help { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -40px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_calendar { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -80px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_search { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -120px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_admin { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -160px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_profile { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -200px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_login { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -240px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_members { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -280px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_logout { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -320px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_pm { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -360px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_home { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -400px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_register { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -440px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a#but_moderate { background: url(../images/theme/menubuttons.png) no-repeat 50% -480px; }
#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a.active,#main_menu .dropmenu li.first a:hover { opacity: 1;  }

#sub_menu .dropmenu li.first { float: left;  }
}

It should install as a mod, but as you discovered you can just upload it as a theme too, by extracting the theme files, modify/create theme_info or add in the database etc. The reason was/is to allow the BAC function as control over the themes, adding theme functions and even a BACportal section into it as well. However..due to lack of interest from users I halted the progress on it, and probably will not do much more with it, since I recently am getting a bit involved in TinyPortal instead.

EDIT: I might simply make a ordinary theme out of it/them, instead of the mod. That would at least make it easier to simply upload and install.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Stylus on February 05, 2015, 08:41:54 PM
Very nice theme, Bloc. I would suggest a mouse hover effect on the top menu to indicate a link is present.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Bloc on July 13, 2016, 05:57:59 PM
This theme is added to the SMF theme-site, awaiting approval now. The look is the same but some of the custom code is removed. Demo of its current form can be had at  http://www.bjornhkristiansen.com/demo/index.php?demo=3
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Dreadaxe on February 03, 2017, 12:39:01 PM
I like a lot your theme!

I have a problem with the admin control panel of Site Mod SMF
http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=4038

(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimagizer.imageshack.us%2Fa%2Fimg924%2F8508%2FazR3eT.png&hash=52a038df5c4f7e0677d03b2aee8f2f70)

Could you help me?
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: jre72 on March 18, 2017, 08:19:40 PM
I'm having the same issue as above and I can't seem to figure out how to make the overall forum wider. The CSS code in the help section it says to change is not present in this theme. I'd appreciate an assist here...
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Illori on March 19, 2017, 07:07:11 AM
in index.css modify the width as needed

Code: [Select]
.forumwidth {
    margin: 0 auto;
    width: 1200px;
}
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: jre72 on March 19, 2017, 12:21:18 PM
Thanks...I actually changed that and it had no impact at all which is why I'm confused.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Kindred on March 19, 2017, 12:36:41 PM
two things...

did you do a hard refresh (ctrl-f5) of your browser cache>
and
be aware that, as a responsive design, the display is handled in multiple places, depending on your screen width.
Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Dreadaxe on March 20, 2017, 01:02:26 PM
No change for me too.
(https://www.simplemachines.org/community/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimagizer.imageshack.us%2Fa%2Fimg924%2F8508%2FazR3eT.png&hash=52a038df5c4f7e0677d03b2aee8f2f70)
I have a problem with the admin control panel of Site Mod SMF
http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=4038 (http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=4038)

Title: Re: [free] AlphaCentauri
Post by: Dreadaxe on March 20, 2017, 07:25:01 PM
I reinstall AlphaCenturi

I have now this bug
https://youtu.be/6aiwN9xFHfY