News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

What would you all recommend for me to do this?

Started by bluevoodu, July 27, 2004, 06:18:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluevoodu

alrighty.. I am stuck in a between a rock and a hard place right now.

I run 3 websites.

2 Unix, 1 Windows.

I know a little bit of .ASP and MS SQL..... but  what is the UNIX version of the Software / Database?
Would that be MySQL and PHP?  what about perl? etc.

What I want to do is create a "fan site" for video games.  I am thinking database driven... dynamic content..etc.
I want to make a management page (that you would have to login to) that would allow you upload reviews... and the management page would automatically format the review to be on a page like all other reviews.
I am not good at getting this information across and I am a bit confused.... so I am looking for suggestions and maybe some direction.

Problem #1:  my current host (in which all 3 sites are hosted) is good... and I do not want to move my sites to another webserver.... that would be my final last option (only my final option.. before scrapping the project).

Problem #2: 1 site has no database space.  My Unix Site has 1 MySQL database, but that is being used by my SMF forums, and to get a 2nd MySQL database, I would have to go to a dedicated server.. a cost I Cannot do yet.  So I have no MySQL database space left.    Why is it limited?  My MySQL Databases are listed on seperate database servers.. seperate from my website. 

Problem #3 (Related to #2): my windows server has 2 unused MS SQL databases free and ready for use.  Problem.... (not your problem.. my problem  :P ) is that SMF is MySQL online... and I want to keep the new site I am creating and the SMF boards together. 

Does anyone know a good solution?

Now for some other questions: