News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Importing messages from a CSV file?

Started by mosk22rte, July 12, 2007, 11:57:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mosk22rte

SMF Version: SMF 1.1.3
Hi all,

I'm new to SMF, so apologies if this question is a simple one that outs me as a noob.

I am the moderator of a Yahoo group, and will be moving this group to SMF. I have an archive of approx. 12k messages that I'd like to move over into the new SMF-powered forum. Because the forum is dedicated to a technical discussion, searching through these older messages for solutions is very useful.

For argument's sake, let's say the messages are in a single CSV file, with columns for date, subject, author, body, MessageID (unique serial ID), and TopicID (non-unique, and used to group similar messages into a single thread).

1. Is there an easy way to import these messages into a single board/child board? I am comfortable with assigning all the messages to a common author (e.g., "OlderArchive", etc.) - I just want the messages available to the search feature.

2. Ideally, messages with a common TopicIDs would appear as separate messages in a single thread.

3. The ideal solution would probably also allow me to import or bulk create memberships for the members of the Yahoo group, but as I said, if that isn't possible I don't mind losing the Author column.

4. I don't need to keep the original TopicID and MessageID columns once the messages are imported, so these can be considered a pre-import grouping mechanism; I don't need to preserve these.

Thanks for your help,

-Jeff

bassbass

Jeff, were you able to convert from CVS file?

mosk22rte

Hi bassbass,