News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

members being logged into the wrong account

Started by Mommy, June 23, 2007, 11:45:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mommy

Hi.  I am new to all of this and we have just had a problem develop on a board I inherited.  Members are being logged into accounts that are not theirs.  They have full reign while logged in as though they were this other user.  I know of at least one instance where they have been logged in as the admin users.

What info can I supply you with to help me solve this? 
We are using version SMF 1.1.2

Thanks!
Mommy

Smurfbutcher Bob

(Only thing I can think of is duplicate ID_Members? Primary key got screwed up in the schema?)

Mommy

Quote from: Smurfbutcher Bob on June 23, 2007, 09:21:39 PM
(Only thing I can think of is duplicate ID_Members? Primary key got screwed up in the schema?)

Thanks for the reply...How would a person go about fixing that? 

I have changed templates today in the hopes that would "fix" it temporarily and I haven't heard anything (That doesn't mean of course that it's fixed).  We were using the smf default theme-core previously.

Like I said, I'm a real newbie to all of this. :)

Smurfbutcher Bob

I suspect it won't be a theme issue. I posted that to inspire someone with one of the few ways it might be happening.

Things I'd look for are:

1. Is it consistent, and how. Which of the following are true:
- The exact same users *always* end up with the wrong accounts. (Others never do. It always happens to me. It never happens to Fred.)
- The same user will *always* end up with the *same* wrong account. (I log on as me, I always end up as you. I never end up being Fred.)

2. When did this start happening. What was changed, before that.

3. Have you been able to encounter this issue. Have you been able to avoid it.

4. What mods are installed, if any.

Quite the puzzle, I must say!

Mommy

Quote from: Smurfbutcher Bob on June 23, 2007, 09:56:48 PM