Advertisement:

Author Topic: How to post a table?  (Read 26520 times)

Offline RickJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Gender: Male
    • Affordable Websites
How to post a table?
« on: August 20, 2008, 07:51:09 AM »
I've enabled the table code on a forum but I don't see or find how to use it?

How do we use it?

Thanks! :)
Rick.

(I do search before asking, so please pardon me if I missed something :) )

Offline Nathaniel

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,117
  • Gender: Male
    • Verbtest.com
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 08:18:29 AM »
The SMF table bbc workings in the same way as normal html tables.

Except that you use square brackets [] instead of <>.

Like this:
Code: [Select]
[table]
 [tr] [td]1.1[/td] [td]1.2[/td][td]1.3[/td][/tr]
[tr] [td]2.1[/td] [td]2.2[/td][td]2.3[/td][/tr]
[tr] [td]3.1[/td] [td]3.2[/td][td]3.3[/td][/tr]
[/table]

Turns into:
1.11.21.3
2.12.22.3
3.13.23.3

There should be a little table button to click.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 08:21:43 AM by LHVWB »
SMF Friend (Former Support Specialist) | SimplePortal Developer
My SMF Mods | SimplePortal

"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" - Who will Guard the Guards?

Please don't send me ANY support related PMs. I will just delete them.

Offline RickJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Gender: Male
    • Affordable Websites
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 08:23:53 AM »
Thanks LH.  Yes, I enabled the button...

Ick.  So no way to paste a table from another source...or have cells to put text into?

The typical user of my forum will find this very cumbersome.  Is there another way that's more user friendly?
Rick.

(I do search before asking, so please pardon me if I missed something :) )

Offline Nathaniel

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,117
  • Gender: Male
    • Verbtest.com
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2008, 08:33:17 AM »
I don't believe that SMF can handle copying tables from other sources, although the WYSIWYG editor from SMF 2 Beta may be able to handle it from certain sources.... ;)
SMF Friend (Former Support Specialist) | SimplePortal Developer
My SMF Mods | SimplePortal

"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" - Who will Guard the Guards?

Please don't send me ANY support related PMs. I will just delete them.

Offline RickJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 273
  • Gender: Male
    • Affordable Websites
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 07:34:07 AM »
Ok.  thank you :)
Rick.

(I do search before asking, so please pardon me if I missed something :) )

Offline ModelBoatMayhem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2013, 09:42:41 AM »
That's my firm opinion.... but what do I know?!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 70,536
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2013, 09:44:15 AM »
Did you really need to bump a 5 year old thread though?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline ModelBoatMayhem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2013, 05:40:54 PM »
Not my topic so not bumping anything!

.....just trying to be helpful.... even if you don't personally have any problems posting complicated tables in SMF?!

Go find something useful to do will ta !  >:(
That's my firm opinion.... but what do I know?!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 70,536
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2013, 05:44:49 PM »
Being helpful is fine - but resurrecting a 5 year old thread to do it? Posting in Coding Discussion and getting it moved to Tips / Tricks would have been better.

I take it your forum members *always* post things in the right place for everyone?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline ModelBoatMayhem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2013, 05:49:10 PM »
This was the ONLY relevant post I could find, relevant to me anyway.
If you know a better place for it, do something about - admins & moderator on my site are expected to be helpful not critical.
That's my firm opinion.... but what do I know?!

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 70,536
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2013, 05:50:55 PM »
Then start a new topic in the right area with that information.

How would you react if a member resurrected a 5 year old thread on your forum?
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Kailash Aghera

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • aghera on Facebook
    • @webhosttalk on Twitter
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2013, 02:50:40 AM »
The thread is 5 years old and there may be several changes made during this period. So it is better to start a new thread to provide more information...

Offline timetraveller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 221
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2014, 08:23:38 AM »
Thank you ModelBoIyhem. That was very helpful - now I understand exactly where the various elements are placed  :)

Offline ModelBoatMayhem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: How to post a table?
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2014, 09:05:47 AM »

You're welcome!
In the end, this was the best I could manage:

http://www.modelboIyhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,42133.msg473287.html#msg473287


That's my firm opinion.... but what do I know?!