Advertisement:

Author Topic: Global Announcements Problem  (Read 3452 times)

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Global Announcements Problem
« on: August 21, 2008, 07:44:13 AM »


This is what the error comes up when i click on the announcement in my forum.

Not Acceptable

An appropriate representation of the requested resource /index.php could not be found on this server.
Apache/2.2.8 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.8 OpenSSL/0.9.8b mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 Server at hackerzden.com Port 80

Please let me know what the problem is. Thank you.

Online vbgamer45

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 20,559
    • smfhacks on Facebook
    • VBGAMER45 on GitHub
    • @createaforum on Twitter
    • SMF For Free
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 07:53:40 AM »
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 08:03:17 AM »
tried it.. but its kind of not working for me... it is actually due to the global announcements mod ... but i already did theme edits..and yet it appears up..anything else which is possible ?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 03:24:43 PM »
You should remove all the "id=$x" from the urls if you cannot turn the mod_security off.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 03:37:50 PM »
Remove "id=$x" from urls ? Can you please give me an example so that i understand a bit better ?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2008, 03:48:04 PM »
Okay, we have the edit url like this:

http://www.mysite.com/index.php?action=gbadmin;sa=editannounce;id=8

If you have id=x in the url, mod_security doesn't accept it.

But it needs a lot of edits in mod, probably you can't do this yourself, mod author should do it.

Anyway, you know the other way, just turn the mod_security off.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2008, 04:07:58 PM »
oh okay. I tried disabling the mod_security by the steps given by vbgamer45 but yet its not working.. i think i will check it out again and see if anything can help out.. or at the last scope.. i will go to the mod author... If you have any other way to make things work .. please let me know..

Thank you.

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2008, 04:13:00 PM »
In some servers, you will not have the permission to disable it. In that case contacting to your host would be a good idea.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2008, 04:18:54 PM »
i h8 contacting the host where there is no live chat option... takes a hell lot of time to respond to the query.. well thanks for your help.. i will be back if i have any problems with this..

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,526
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2008, 08:41:26 PM »
Any updates on this? Do you still require assistance?
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2008, 08:43:55 PM »
yep... the host hasnt replied to the query yet. Would post you updates as soon as i get a reply.

Offline Rumbaar

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,805
  • Gender: Male
  • Inherent Omniscience
    • Rumbaar.net
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2008, 10:11:18 PM »
Any luck with information from your host on any type of security they have present?
"An important reward for a job well done is a personal sense of worthwhile achievement."

[ Themes ]

Offline Adish - (F.L.A.M.E.R)

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 10,614
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a ninja!
    • adishpatel on Facebook
    • https://www.linkedin.com/in/adishpatel on LinkedIn
Re: Global Announcements Problem
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2008, 01:16:30 PM »
Well.. i got a better solution.. i changed the host.. ;) lolz.. was crazy host there..  ticked this topic as solved...

Offline BajaGringo

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Global Announcements Problem - Won't Load
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2008, 02:37:14 PM »
I am new to this and having a different problem. I tried to load a flash element into the Global Announcement box and it looks fine when I preview it but it doesn't show up in the forums. I tehn tried putting just a simple one line statement and they don't come up either - something is keeping my GA's from appearing. I am new to php/css so I would appreciate any answers be spelled out so the dummie that I am can understand. Here are the 2 error codes I am getting:

8: Undefined offset: 533
File: /home/content/b/a/j/bajaforum/html/bajaforum/Themes/default/languages/Post.english.php (editGA sub template - eval?)
Line: 520
   
8: Undefined offset: 532
File: /home/content/b/a/j/bajaforum/html/bajaforum/Themes/default/languages/Post.english.php (editGA sub template - eval?)
Line: 519

The forum is http://www.bajamexicoretirement.com/bajaforum [nofollow]

Thanks for your help!!!