News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

Help files

Started by Amacythe, November 21, 2003, 09:33:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amacythe

How about some detailed help files about the options on the board?

I for one was too naive to click the "dump database" in my admin cp.  I was afraid it would "dump" the database not download, but throw it away.

Jeff Lewis

Heh, yeah you think they would have choosen a different word than "dump". I remember seeing that in phpmyadmin for the first time :)
Co-Founder of SMF

PeterL

Quote from: Amacythe on November 21, 2003, 09:33:53 AM
How about some detailed help files about the options on the board?

Yeah I agree... I'm a newbie as well and just too chicken to change much.

As I understand it, this is coming, but since this IS a beta version, we have to be patient.

Unknown installed mine and its worked flawlessly ever since, so, I cannot complain. But then my board only has about 30 users. There ARE folks here running the beta version with hundreds of users and callers. So, there is a lot of confidence in this software.

I'm looking forward to when there's a detailed help file that I can print out and put on my shelf. I've gotten pretty good results here asking questions, but its not the same. I like to step my way through a procedure..

Killer Possum

"Dump" means backup?? Wow you learn something every day, I too thought it ment to delete the database :P

Gobalopper

It is called backup database now, it goes something like this:

QuoteForum Maintenance - Backup Database
-Save the table structure.
-Save the table data. (the important stuff.)
-Compress the file with gzip.
Download

Amacythe

Excuse me, but the question wasn't about database dump.  That was merely an example.  My question is about detailed help files; will there be detailed help files for SMF?

Gobalopper