Advertisement:

Author Topic: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?  (Read 3161 times)

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« on: April 22, 2010, 02:57:20 PM »
I don't want registered users to be forced to CAPTCHA for every post. How/where do I disable that (using version 1.1.11).

Thank you,
-Russ

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 03:08:32 PM »
That's most odd.


Do all your members have to do this?

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 03:43:56 PM »
I just started my forum. I have just one "test" member. And yes, every post requires CAPTCHA.

As a patter of fact, THIS post that I'm posting right now on the simplemachines forum is also requiring CAPTCHA.

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2010, 03:47:24 PM »
Here?


That's even more peculiar.


Maybe there's something wrong with your browser, or something.


Can you try a different one?

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2010, 03:53:02 PM »
Okay, I am replying to your post in Firefox (before I was using IE).

I am still being required to type the CAPTCHA letters in order to post this! (Maybe because I'm a new member?)

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2010, 03:55:39 PM »
Not unless something's changed, recently.


I'll ask the troops, for you.

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2010, 03:59:08 PM »
Thanks!

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2010, 04:01:41 PM »
If/when I get a reply, I'll get back to you, if nobody else does. :)

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2010, 04:04:03 PM »
Quote
This site requires captcha up to 10 posts.


Maybe you've set yours that way, too?

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2010, 04:04:49 PM »

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2010, 04:12:17 PM »
Quote
This site requires captcha up to 10 posts.


Maybe you've set yours that way, too?

I don't see a setting for that (up to 10 posts). All I have under Admin are sttings for requiring CAPTCHA for new registrations. I don't see any settings regarding CAPTCHA and individual posts. Am I missing something?

Thanks again,
-Russ

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2010, 04:16:12 PM »
I have to confess...


I can't see any reference to it, at all, on mine. Except for registration, of course.


Do you have any mods that might do this?

Offline Russ123

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2010, 04:19:37 PM »
Nothing - no mods. I'm using version 1.1.11.

Maybe this is just the default behavior?

By the way, this must be my 10th post because I'm not being required to enter the CAPTCHA letters for this one.

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2010, 04:24:38 PM »
That's really weird.


I can't find anything, at all!


I'll keep searching...

Offline K@

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,587
  • Gender: Male
  • Yum!
Re: How Do I Disable CAPTCHA?
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2010, 04:29:40 PM »
All I can find is CAPTCHA for PMs, not posts...