News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Getting hammered with spams through personal messages

Started by tareko, July 04, 2010, 02:53:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tareko

This is not funny anymore. I have set up the posts to enter the visual verification when sending personal meesages and still they spam my members like crazy. I am so pissed off at those low life spammers. Is there a mod that I can read the private messages? I have been told to look at them at the database but I dont know how. I am a total noob. Or is there a mod to replace that posts for visual verification? Where members under a certain post count cant send personal messages. They will see an error message that says Sorry member name. You must have 20 posts to send Personal Messages. But I dont want the admins to be affected by this because I will set the number higer than some of my admins posts. I would be very grateful if someone can show me where to find these mods.

Cheers

kat

Nobody at SMF will tell you how to read private messages, coz we believe they are exactly that. Private.

Why not limit the number of messages that people can send?

If you set registration to "By approval", you'll stop loads.

xenovanis

In permissions, you can disallow sending personal messages based on postcount. Try using that for your 'newbie' group.

On my forum, it's set that users in the group with less than 2 posts can't send peronsal messages.

Also, you might try using reCaptcha rather than the default visual verification.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

sAce

1. SMF doesn't provide any option or mods for reading/viewing members PMs.

2. PM Security can be added to stop this ( captcha verification )

3. No PM permissions can be set for member groups from ACP > member groups > permissions area.

cicka