News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Banned Members-Can They Still Access?

Started by maggieberry, October 02, 2010, 05:40:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maggieberry

I just have a quick question. We've had several members banned, and they've since tried accessing our board constantly. When I look to see what they're doing, it's any number of things. Our board is cut off to guests as it's invite only or pre-approval. Can anyone tell me what they're doing or trying to do? I think we've got every security feature mod you can imagine, but I will admit I'm new to all of this. Here's a screenshot of one of the many proxy ips used and what they're doing.

IceXaos

It's just showing they tried to access the forum, and were blocked.  I'm pretty sure it shows up int he error log, but there's a MOD to remove it from there.  As long as they are name banned, they wont be gettin' far with that account.  Since it's approved accounts, the only way they'll be back is if you end up approving one of them again.

maggieberry

So are they trying to access different points in the board by typing the url--like, for say, the pm system in hopes that there's a backdoor in?

IceXaos

They could be accessing it via Google's cache or something, if you allow spiders to view content.  I don't know, but I do know that the ban system works perfectly fine if you've not altered it.

Now, it shows he attempts to quote at 9:22, yet it never shows an attempt to send a message.  User ID 2 is the admin on my board, but I'm not sure if that was a muck-up when I transferred with a dummy account, or what .. Anyways, if he has accessed it, as long as you don't have a lot of users, ask to see who he's PM'd.  If he accessed, someone surely got a PM there, and if not, well he's just got nothin' better to do I guess, it happens.

maggieberry