SMF 2.0 RC4 (No email functionality all of a sudden)

Started by mrahn, February 22, 2011, 02:05:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrahn

I have been running SMF for two years with no issues.  About three weeks ago I finally made the upgrade to RC4 and either soon after or right when I upgraded email within the forums no longer works. 

I first noticed it when new users were never getting past the email activation and my admin email account in gmail was never getting the "hey a new member has signed up for your forums" emails.  The first few days I just figured it was being buggy but now I realize that nothing goes through.

I called my host and they ran tests (about an hour of phone time) that they say all came back successful.  I have not changed any settings so I am at a loss as to why email is dead.  I am using the PHP default for emails.

I have read many other threads here where people say either 1. contact your host or 2. get your SMTP information and try it that way.  I contacted the host with no success and I honestly don't know how to get my SMTP info.

If anyone could shed some light for me I would be greatly appreciative. 

Thank You.

tonydang

The same thing is happening to me and when I call my host they told me that it is the SMF...My users never got the email validation when they sign up...

mrahn

I called my host again this morning to see if another tech guy would be able to solve the issue.  They went through all of my files and could not find out why my email functionality stopped when I upgraded to SMF 2.0 RC4.  I was also given the SMTP information through my host and that also did not work.

Is there anyone that knows what could be wrong or anyone that can offer any advice at all.  At this point my host can do nothing and at this point I am thinking it is an SMF 2.0 RC4 issue.

Danny S.

I'm having this same issue lately. Mine occurred once I upgraded to RC5.

nousndthem

removed

Illori