News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Title Case in Subject

Started by cosmicxxx, September 28, 2011, 12:38:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cosmicxxx

hello gurus,

is there any mod, or how-to's on how to do this? im thinking of a mod that can automatically transform the subject's title, into title case.

so, if a member inputs lowercase in Subject, in the post topic page, and when submitting this topic post, the subject title will then be automatically transform into "Title Case".

UPPER CASE transformed to Title Case.
lower case transformed to Title Case.

Angelina Belle

Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity. -- Hanlon's Razor

cosmicxxx

whew! what was that...

well, thank you. im not a coder... i did not understand that article.

Angelina Belle

Well -- you asked for a how-to.

It says that there is a helpful php function, called mb_convert_case, that can be used to do exactly what you want.
You could use it at the time the post is originally saved (in Post2), or else you could use it in a theme's template to display it that way without actually changing what is on the database.

I don't think there is a mod for this, or even a tip/trick.  Would you like me to move this discussion to the coding forum, where you might attract some more help?

Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity. -- Hanlon's Razor

cosmicxxx

oh... yes please... do it so...

im learning basic sql, php, and html. self studying. right now i'm must trying to edit some mods, so that i can learn a bit and also learn some global functions of smf.

Angelina Belle

Enjoy learning.  I hope you come up with something good.

IchBin™

ucwords() will do the same thing I think.

You could probably get away with adding that function to the $msgOptions array in Sources/Post.php where the subject is set.

$msgOptions = array(