News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

[Request, with example] Completely table-less theme

Started by Roman2K, August 17, 2005, 01:07:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roman2K

Hello,

The only bad point of SMF is that its theme and, as far as I know, all currently made themes, ALWAYS use tables and style="something" attributes that is I think the worse designing method.

Lately, I found Lussomo Vanilla [nofollow] PHP/MySQL forum. Here is how it looks by defaut :

You can see it working at the Vanilla community forum [nofollow].

As you can see, the theme is impressively clean and does not use any table nor style="something" attributes which is excellent.
The entire theme is totally "CSS driven" and is impressively beautiful.

• What do you think of this theme ?
  • Is reproducing such a great theme for SMF possible ? If yes, is it easy ? (I have no experience in theming SMF)
  • Is someone interested in creating the same theme for SMF ?

Tristan Perry

The theme doesn't work in IE4.. Although all CSS-designs can be great, it can be easier and a more viable method to use tables sometimes.

All CSS SMF themes are possible, although I think it'd be better if the default theme for SMF is kept as it is.

tentronik

All nice but 1 question "Why no tables"?
I think a template with like 3 tables (header, body and footer) and all directed by  css of course is best.

Roman2K

@tentronik
No table because it is not very modifiable though the CSS.

@Tau Online
I don't think there is a lot of people using the prehistoric IE4 :D.
Tables are great only for statistics, maybe.

Of course the default SMF theme can remain like this, the main goal of the post is to ask if someone would like to reproduce such a theme.

Tristan Perry

Quote from: Roman2K on August 17, 2005, 01:23:11 PM
@Tau Online
I don't think there is a lot of people using the prehistoric IE4 :D.
Tables are great only for statistics, maybe.