Where to Extract SMF Zip File?

Started by PleaseHelp, May 29, 2012, 04:32:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PleaseHelp

Hello. I'm new at this. The attached shows I have the SMF Zip file.

Do I extract it to the public directory? Or, should I first make a "SMF" folder in the public directory and extract to that folder?

I don't know what the other folders there are for.

Thanks for helping. I'm glad to be here. :)

Dzonny

Hello there and welcome to smf community! :)

If you would like your forum to be on url like yoursite.com/forum/ then you should make folder "forum", and if you want it to be on yoursite.com then just extract in public dir, where it is now.

Let us know if you need any further help.

Regards,
Dzonny

PleaseHelp

Just what I needed. Thank you.

I extracted to a forum folder and set the CHMOD values.

But now I'm trying to install SMF and get a 404 Not Found when entering the following in a browser with my .com domain instead of (mysite.com):

http://www.(mysite.com)/forum/install.php

kat

One thing to remember, when using the internet...

Unlike Windows, case matters.

So, if the directory was named "Forum", only "Forum" will work. "forum" most definitely will not.

I thought I'd mention that, just in case... ;)

PleaseHelp

Now I know why some coders only type their posts in lower case. :)

I just finished chatting with my domain registrar, Namecheap.

The host records for my .com domain looked like this earlier.
@ --- (host ip address) --- A (Address) --- 1800
www --- (mysite.com) --- CNAME --- 1800

And now it is changed to this as advised by Namecheap.
@ --- (host ip address) --- A (Address) --- 1800
www --- (host ip address) --- A (Address) --- 1800

Namecheap also advised that I would need to do a redirect (somehow) through my host if I want mysite.com to show in a browser instead of www. in front of mysite.com.

kat

I'd work on getting the place up'n'running, before worrying about redirects and that kinda stuff, myself.