News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

[Converter] XenForo 1.2 --> SMF 2.0.x

Started by margarett, October 06, 2013, 05:09:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

margarett

Following some requests here, I tried to create a converter from XF. The attached file results of some trial-and-error around XF's database schema and the necessary equivalent in SMF.
Unfortunately I struggled too much with the "official" converters so I eventually gave up and started from scratch. I know that I've probably tried to reinvent the wheel but this way I know what I am doing, every step of the way.
Also, I'm not very good at design and present forms to fill and blablabla. So, there is no beautiful layout and some file edits are needed. Nothing too much, but it has to be done.

What the converter will convert:

• Members
  • Categories
  • Boards
  • Topics/Posts
  • PMs
  • post attachments
  • polls

How to use this converter:
1 - BACKUP
2 - Install SMF in a separate folder and in the same database as XF
3 - Download the attached "xf2smf.php" file to you computer and edit it with a decent editor (eg: Notepad++). The small edits that are needed are all localized in this part here:

3.1 - You need to define the folder where XF is installed. By folder, I mean the server path where XF's installation is located. SMF's path is automatically discovered (because you will put the file there :P ). If you don't know it, please upload the attached "whats_the_path.php" file to XF's folder and run it via browser. It will tell you the path you should add.
3.2 - You need to adjust my "$max_queries" variable. This defines how many registers the converter tries to move at once. A low number takes a LOT of time, a large number will hammer your server and may cause it to become unresponsive.