News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Theme Leftovers from uninstall and a few more queries

Started by hellman666, April 17, 2014, 10:01:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hellman666

I uninstalled a load of themes from my ftp, so now got my main theme and the defaults by smf eg core, running 2.0.7, using the blackday theme

ran maintenance, cleaned cache, but i still have two identical themes, but being a bit newbie i might be wrong, thing is i get some MOD installation errors and not sure if the two theme are causing it or if i only have one theme, all the ones removed are sitting cached somewhere, basically after a forum crash i reinstalled the theme, added my backup to restore the stuff i had done like board config stuff

1. how to i get my forum to only use the one theme, so i can see only one theme when i only see one theme in my folder?
2. If i see anything with the ~ does that mean its duplicated or backed up etc
3. i notice a lot of gifs in images, can i replace them with .php around size 21 for a better image quality, and how, also want to darken some sections of the theme and maybe add a background, any advice appreciated.
4. I get a source error after maintenance SSI.php out of date, how do i upgrade or fix this?
5. The theme i use at the moment is blackday, would this cause similar issues with files being out of date as maintenance mode does pick up a couple of files that need updating?

hope you dont mind me asking various questions in one topic, just to save posting several other questions in all the others as coding, upgrading, graphics would have been 3 posts... :-) I've got notepad++ and xampp installed on the desktop, so can get stuck in without worrying, forum is backed up and downloaded the whole thing from the ftp server

thanks for any or all advice \m/

peace out  :)

Kindred