New to smf (need help badly)

Started by machawk, July 16, 2014, 03:12:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

machawk

Good day great guys! I am new to online forum creation. I am an I.T enthusiast and wish to build my own forum for a community, from researches i have done, i've decided to choose smf. but here lies the problem. I want to know if there is a way i can create my forum offline before putting it online as i am still taking time to choose a web host. While i ponder about which webhost to use, is it possible for me to test run my forum locally on my laptop and when i am done  test running, can i upload my desired "test runed" forum online? how can i do that?
thanks in advance for a reply. VIVA SMF! ;)

Deaks

yeh you could use a programme like XAMPP this creates a local server so you can work off without needing internet.
~~~~
Former SMF Project Manager
Former SMF Customizer

"For as lang as hunner o us is in life, in nae wey
will we thole the Soothron tae owergang us. In truth it isna for glory, or wealth, or
honours that we fecht, but for freedom alane, that nae honest cheil gies up but wi life
itsel."

machawk

Quote from: Μπράιαν on July 16, 2014, 03:15:15 PM
yeh you could use a programme like XAMPP this creates a local server so you can work off without needing internet.

thanks! nice to know that. now it is getting interesting ! can i upload everything i have done on xampp to an online webhost hitch free? if i can, what are the pros and cons. i just want to know what i am dealing with here since i haven't decided to go though the normal convention of extracting it straight online.

machawk

combing through the forum, i find this useful for myself and also for others like me. http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=387205.0.  i want to ask. is it better that i install on xampp than the normal c-panel online stuffs?

Deaks

Quote from: machawk on July 16, 2014, 03:23:01 PM