News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Unread Topics 'stopped' working

Started by @rjen, July 20, 2014, 03:50:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

@rjen

SMF version 2.0.8
Forum: www . fjr-club . nl

I have been running an SMF forum since 2011 and am very Happy with it. I have always been able to find solutions to 'problems' here, but now I have the first one I cannot resolve. I am completely baffled.

This problem started yesterday.

Let me explain: a long time ago I have adapted the forum to use the unread;all function instead of the standard unread.
No problem there: a user that selects "unread" fro  the menu gets presented the un read;all list.

As of yesterday something strange is happening:
when I read a new message from the unread;all list the item is no longer removed from the list after reading it.

When accessing the board the 'new' indicator is removed though, and also in a tinyportal block I am using the 'new'indicator is removed, but the topic still shows up in the unread list!
Now when I select the topic and perform the function: 'mark selected read' nothing changes: item still included in the list
Only if I now select the function "Mark all topics read" are the topics removed form the list!

Another symptom is, that when I post a new message myself, is is afterwards shown to me as unread as well!

I have (on the same server) a backup copy (month old) of the same forum running for testing purposes: this forum seems unaffected.

What have I done:
1. Checked all files for recent changes (hacking): none found
2. Checked the mods: no recent mod installed, and the backup forum is running fine with the same mods
3. Tried copying all source and theme files from the backup copy to the affected forum, no change in behaviour.
4. Repaired database, no changes