News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

As an Admin, how do I allow members to select their language?

Started by jjsmith, September 18, 2014, 08:16:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jjsmith

Hi,

I see in my profile here that I can select my preferred language via "Profile > Modify Profile > Account Settings"

and then use the  "Preferred Language" field.

However, on my smf forum, that field doesn't show.

I'm an admin on my forum.  Where do I change the configuration to allow members to change it on their profile?

Also, are the values in the dropdown coming from the languages installed via "Admin > Configuration > Languages > Edit Languages" ?

Thanks

Arantor

The first question: Admin > Configuration > Languages > Settings > Enable user-selectable language support.

Yes, the values would come from the list in Edit Languages. I'm presuming you have more than one language installed?

jjsmith

Thanks - I was looking in the wrong place for it...

But - that's actually checked, but yet the field still doesn't show in my Profile.

Re multiple languages - I have two English languages installed - ISO-8859-1 and UTF-8. 

I was thinking it would let me choose one or the other, but now I wonder if since they're both English, it's assuming only one language, and so not even showing the field.  Hmmm, just a wild guess on that but can't think of any other reason it wouldn't show

Arantor

Correct. You don't switch between ISO and UTF-8 and there is absolutely no reason to switch between them.

jjsmith

Thanks.  Yep I just installed French and the field shows up.

Yep don't want to switch between them - just trying the fix the problem of quotes and apostrophes being replaced with question marks when pasted in from MS Word.

One part of that is using UTF-8.  We're on ISO-8859 and just wanted to test with a single user before changing the entire forum to UTF-8. 

Thanks for your help.

Arantor