News:

SMF 2.1.4 has been released! Take it for a spin! Read more.

Main Menu

Replace preg_replace with preg_replace_callback

Started by Combert, October 03, 2014, 04:08:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Combert

In php 5.5 preg_replace is deprecated. This leads to error messages being posted on the site and in the logs.

I am not too good with php, so I am wondering if someone can create an update. It seems to be the Sources/Load.php file that contains several preg_replace functions.

margarett

Unfortunately that won't happen. It's far more complex than you might think.

You should really upgrade to 2.0.x ;)
Se forem conduzir, não bebam. Se forem beber... CHAMEM-ME!!!! :D

QuoteOver 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

Combert

Thank you for answering.

That sucks!  :)

Upgrading is also very complex. Especially if you have various mods installed.

May I ask why it is so complex to replace the functions? It seems, from googling, that it is not such a big operation. I just don't understand the regex and the returning of an anonymous function.

And you would think there would be a lot of SMF1 sites out there suddenly throwing these errors because their hosts have updated the PHP version.

margarett

I understand that...
But you need to consider that SMF 1.1.x is a 7-year old product that sooner or later WILL reach its end of life. And that EOL is now :P This was the last update it got and we will cease support when 2.1 final gets out...

It is impossible to support such an old product. Now its preg_replace, later other constraints would appear...

QuoteOver 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

Combert

Dragooon