News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Undefined offset error

Started by Jade Elizabeth, January 03, 2015, 05:56:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jade Elizabeth

So for some reason I keep getting an Undefined offset: 0 error for the lines under the comments regarding types and subtypes (it's upset with the child level part) of my file. Everything is working as it should I just get 44 errors a page load lol.

Can someone please help me understand why I'm getting this error? This is my first time working with multidimensional arrays that I've built myself from scratch so I would really love to fully understand what's going on :).

$result_work_cats_and_types = $smcFunc['db_query']('workindex_fetch_cats_and_types' , '
SELECT
c.id_cat,
c.cat_order,
c.cat_name,
c.cat_desc,
t.id_type,
t.id_cat AS parent_cat,
t.id_parent,
t.child_level,
t.type_order,
t.type_name,
t.type_desc,
t.num_works,
t.num_comments,
t.unapproved_comments
FROM
{db_prefix}works_categories AS c,
{db_prefix}works_types AS t
WHERE
c.id_cat = t.id_cat
ORDER BY
c.cat_order, t.id_parent
');

// Start with an empty array.
$work_categories = array();

// Build the array of cats and types
while ($row = $smcFunc['db_fetch_assoc']($result_work_cats_and_types))
{
// Make sure we haven't seen the cat yet then grab it
if (!isset($work_categories[$row['id_cat']]))
{
$work_categories[$row['id_cat']] = array(
'id_cat' => $row['id_cat'],
'order' => $row['cat_order'],
'name' => $row['cat_name'],
'description' => $row['cat_desc'],
'href' => $scripturl . '#c' . $row['id_cat'],
'link' => '<a href="' . $scripturl . '#c' . $row['id_cat'] . '">' . $row['cat_name'] . '</a>',
'types' => array() ,
);
}

// Make sure to grab the types
if (($work_categories[$row['child_level']]) == 0)
{
$work_categories[$row['id_cat']]['types'][$row['id_type']] = array(
'id_type' => $row['id_type'],
'order' => $row['type_order'],
'parent' => $row['id_parent'],