Cant instal certain mods

Started by deathwantsme, October 15, 2005, 07:34:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deathwantsme

Mods that are just a file, not a folder WILL not instal for me. Does anyone have an idea why?

dtm.exe

deathwantsme

yes, it says:

An Error Has Occurred!
The package you tried to upload either is not a valid package or has become corrupted.

dtm.exe

Quote from: deathwantsme on October 15, 2005, 07:35:52 PM
yes, it says:

An Error Has Occurred!
The package you tried to upload either is not a valid package or has become corrupted.

Are you sure that the package is compatible with the version of SMF that you are using?

deathwantsme

no, not 100%. Im a noob to smf and assumed that since it is a download on the package manager and is in bold in there with a download link that it was compatable. The server my forum is on is weird so i have to download each file and upload it.

dtm.exe

Quote from: deathwantsme on October 15, 2005, 07:39:53 PM
no, not 100%. Im a noob to smf and assumed that since it is a download on the package manager and is in bold in there with a download link that it was compatable. The server my forum is on is weird so i have to download each file and upload it.

That's not the case, unfortunately.  So problem solved?

deathwantsme

so how do i know what mods are compatable with  SMF 1.1 RC1???

Elmacik

in downloads page, every mod has an explanation header like this:
Name:
Created By:
Type:
First Created:
Last Modified:
Latest Version:
Compatible With: you can see here and read the explanation written by the author also
Total Downloads:
Home of Elmacik

deathwantsme

what if they havent updated but it is? guess i gotta take that chance?

Why does it have that download link and the name of the mod in bold if its not compatable?

If i downgrade my forum, then mod it, then upgrade it, will the mods work?

Elmacik

no, mods wont work if you upgrade, moreover, your forum will fail to upgrade with mods.