Installed SMF to IP address instead of domain name

Started by MadCityKaren, February 06, 2015, 06:23:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MadCityKaren

I'm a newbie to SMF as well as really anything to do with websites/databases/etc. 

Anyway, as noted in the subject line I somehow managed to install SMF to the IP address/~directory name rather than the domain name -- and don't know how to rectify the situation.  (The only way the installer would activate was using the IP address ...)

(I'm currently mulling over deleting everything I've done so far and starting over again.) 

Any advice would be appreciated!

margarett

Hi and welcome ;)

If you have no content yet, delete and reinstall is a viable option. Or you can use repair_settings
What is repair_settings.php?
Access the tool through the domain, fix and save paths. Done ;)
Se forem conduzir, não bebam. Se forem beber... CHAMEM-ME!!!! :D

QuoteOver 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

MadCityKaren

Thanks, margarett!  I may have to try that (as I really don't want to start completely over again if I can help it -- this has been an all day adventure already). 

MadCityKaren

I found the repair settings tool didn't help me out here. 

Is this GUIDE still accurate for installing SMF through cPanel?  This is the guide I'd followed initially along with referencing the online manual wiki -- despite being several years old, it seemed to make sense until I got to the Installer section:  I went to domain address, adding /smf/ behind it as in the example, and there was nothing there (i.e. "this webpage is not available").