News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Session verification error.

Started by OPR, March 18, 2015, 11:32:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OPR

Hi, I'm not great at all this but our forum which has been running since 2008 has suddenly developed this error. It's fine as long as you do not log out, ever. If you try to log out you get "Session verification failed. Please try logging out and back in again, and then try again."

Now you are trying to log out so that makes no sense. The only way back in is to close the site, delete the smf & php cookies, open up the site and log in again. Log in produces a password error on first attempt so hitting enter again accepts the password.

I am not very good at hunting errors down.  :-\

operationphotorescue.org/forum/index.php

Irisado

Which version of SMF are you using?
Soñando con una playa donde brilla el sol, un arco iris ilumina el cielo, y el mar espejea iridescentemente

Illori

given the link they provided

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC  |

which should be upgraded to 1.1.20, or 2.0.9 ASAP.

Night09

Check under Admin > Configuration > Server Settings > Cookies and Sessions (im not on 1.1.x so may be slightly different path) that Enable local storage of cookies, Use subdomain independent cookies, Force cookies to be secure are unchecked save the page and retry login and out.

Once this is resolved upgrade ASAP.

OPR

Thanks, I can't see "Force cookies to be secure are unchecked".

So you basically want this on the picture ticked? What about database sessions, ticked or unticked?

http://postimg.org/image/turb5yju1/ [nofollow]

Night09

Try untick the  : 'Use subdomain independent cookies' and leave the rest as it is. Save and try login/out. You might have to clear your cookies/cache.

"Force cookies to be secure"  May just be a 2.x feature.

OPR

Neither Sub domain or local cookies are ticked.