News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

What to back up before trying mod?

Started by roshaoar, April 25, 2015, 10:14:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

roshaoar

Hello,

I'm relatively new to smf - in the process of choosing a board for my site. Looks like it's going to be SMF, it's awesome :)

But, testing out different mods etc, I keep having this problem whereby a mod and theme combination messes things up and even if I uninstall it it doesn't go back to how it was before. So I keep having to reinstall smf from scratch, upgrade, and reinstall the 30 mods I like. Which gets a bit old :).

Can I ask is there a saner way to do this, ie to take a complete copy so that if new mod X messes it up I can just upload old copies of directories a/b/c ie what was working perfectly before?

Many thanks
-Johan

Siirist

Quote from: roshaoar on April 25, 2015, 10:14:22 AM
Hello,

I'm relatively new to smf - in the process of choosing a board for my site. Looks like it's going to be SMF, it's awesome :)

But, testing out different mods etc, I keep having this problem whereby a mod and theme combination messes things up and even if I uninstall it it doesn't go back to how it was before. So I keep having to reinstall smf from scratch, upgrade, and reinstall the 30 mods I like. Which gets a bit old :).

Can I ask is there a saner way to do this, ie to take a complete copy so that if new mod X messes it up I can just upload old copies of directories a/b/c ie what was working perfectly before?

Many thanks
-Johan

Hi,

Wish someone more experienced answered this.... I was almost quite experienced but my funding for my site went away for two years.
Anyway, I looked at "Online Help" (found at the top of every page) and then used the Frequently Asked Questions and found this Back-Up (and restore as well).