Installing with git?

Started by ericbelldesigns, June 07, 2015, 11:54:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ericbelldesigns

Hi guys,

I am a graphic and web designer, and was a C# Developer. I have a client wishing to install your forum software on their domain. I make my changes through git, and my changes are published on their domain. I am hoping to install this on hxxp:theirdomain.com [nonactive] /forum. Before I get started, does any body see any issues with what I am attempting, or any suggestions that will help me with the install? I believe I could get FTP access if I absolutely have to, so should I just ask my client for that instead of working through git? Any advice is greatly appreciated! I'm sure I will be back with more questions.

margarett

It depends on what you are doing but I believe that it should be fine for the most part. Just be careful if you perform database changes or that modify paths. It it's just code you're changing, it should not be a problem ;)
Se forem conduzir, não bebam. Se forem beber... CHAMEM-ME!!!! :D

QuoteOver 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

ericbelldesigns

Thank you for your reply! I have installed the forum successfully, but am having a minor issue due to a stupid mistake on my part. I did not allow the automatic removal of install.php, and I do not see it in my directory. I get this:

MAJOR SECURITY RISK:
You have not removed install.php!

I'm not sure how I can do this since I do not see it in my directory.

JBlaze

This is where having an FTP client comes in handy. Or use PuTTy if you know how to use the command line.
Jason Clemons
Former Team Member 2009 - 2012

ericbelldesigns

I am asking my client to delete the file from their end. Once the file is removed, I should be ok, correct?

margarett

QuoteOver 90% of all computer problems can be traced back to the interface between the keyboard and the chair

ericbelldesigns