ugrade from 1.1.18 to 2.0.10

Started by forumRc, June 17, 2015, 04:21:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

forumRc

Hi all!
After years using SMF think our forum needs an upgrade, is there a step by step guide to upgrade from 1.1.18 to the new 2.0.10
Like most forums I don't wish to lose threads, posts, and member list is this possible?

forumRc

I had read that, just seemed to simple, back up everything, download large zip etc upload backup back to forum and it all works? Is it that simple?

Kindred

Ummm..., upload backup back to forum?   Huh? Where does it say to do that?

Take a backup - files and database
Upload the upgrade archive
Extract, overwriting your existing files.
Run upgrade.php
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

forumRc

Sorry sure you can tell I'm not good at this stuff, just concerned after 7 years running forum of losing posts and threads or getting an error code or something, even asked our hosts hostgator to do it for me, originally they agreed for a small price, then changed there mind saying they could not say it would work and we,d not lose anything!!!

So, I take a full back up of files and database

Upload a clean install to a new sub domain? Or use the upgrade one? Which safer so I don't lose everything?

Sorry for the questions, I've read many a post on here and think I've  confussed myself and getting panicky about doing it

Kindred

If you have a backup of the database, you will not lose anything, even if the upgrade goes terribly wrong.

Upgrade in place....  The other way ends up getting complicated.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.