News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Changing notification defaults

Started by kcarmody, July 12, 2015, 07:46:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kcarmody

I don't know if this question belongs here or in the mods area.  I have recently installed SMF 2.0.10 and so far it works fine.  As an admin, I would like to change the default values for notifications in member profiles.  A member can change this by clicking on Profile / Forum Profile and then Modify Profile / Notifications.  There are 5 settings here:

• Receive forum newsletters, announcements and important notifications by email.
  • Turn notification on when you post or reply to a topic.
  • When sending notification of a reply to a topic, send the post in the email (but please don't reply to these emails.)
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me:
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me of:
SMF's default values are:

• checked
  • unchecked
  • unchecked
  • Instantly - but only for the first unread reply
  • Moderation only if I started the topic
I would like the defaults to be:

• checked
  • checked
  • checked
  • Instantly
  • Replies and moderation
So I want to change the default values of these settings for all but the first item.  I could recommend that each user that they change these settings themselves, but I think most of them would prefer my defaults to SMF's defaults.

I am an experienced programmer and have done a little bit of PHP and JS programming.  I have already successfully modified an SMF PHP file to tweak one of the registration emails.  I have tried to find out where the defaults for the above settings are set, but I have not been successful so far.  I cannot find any admin option to change these defaults, so I thought that they must be hard wired into the PHP somewhere.  But I can't find this anywhere in the code.