Upgrade from 1.0 to 2.0.11

Started by Believerds, September 24, 2015, 08:22:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Believerds

Hello Folks,

I am quite new to the ADMIN of my forum and will need some help with upgrading from 1.0 to 2.0.11.

The version I am currently using is: SMF 1.1.21

I may be asking a lot, but could someone please assist me in a step by step procedure with this upgrade?

Thank you,

Dave

Antes

Believerds

Thanks for the response Antes, but I'm not sure what to do with this. I was just hoping to get a step by step process.

Antes

Its actually step by step, just read the page if any question left in your mind ask us here :)

Believerds

I have attached a few steps that I think are appropriate. Let me know if this is correct.

Illori

you cant use the package manager to upgrade from one major version to another, you have to manually override all the files and run the upgrade.php script as that link posted above tells you.

Believerds

Well, I appreciate the help and direction, but I'm definitely not knowledgeable enough to take this on without the concern of damaging the existing forum. I'm sure you're confident with your skills on this task, but I will need more detailed support. Thanks!

Illori

have you really read the link provided? it tells you step by step what you have to do... if you dont put in a little bit of effort to read what is provided there is not a whole lot we can do to help you.

Kindred

1 Download The Upgrade Archive
    2 Back up Your Forum
        2.1 Back up Your Files
    3 Extract The SMF Archive and Upload The Files to Your Website
    4 Set File and Directory Permissions
        4.1 Setting File Permissions with the Upgrader
        4.2 Setting File Permissions with FTP
    5 Run the Upgrading Tool
        5.1 Upgrade Settings
    6 Finishing the Upgrade Process
    7 Useful FAQ

this is the step-by-step...  the actual page contents describe each of the steps in more detail
Слaва
Украинi