SMF Server suddenly times out for some members, cannot log on

Started by spitfire80, September 29, 2015, 12:29:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spitfire80

Hello, Just wanted to post this query here to see if others have experienced this same issue. Our forum is version 1.1.21

Recently a number of members, myself included (and I am an Admin), would have try to post to a thread or create a new topic, and get a screen that indicated a 500 server error. But after refreshing this page to try a 2nd or 3rd attempt to post, suddenly the page would hang, until finally a message window appears, saying that the "the server is taking too long to respond. It may be busy, check the url" etc.

The thing is, this time out issue is ONLY for our SMF forum url. Any other website, email sites, etc are all able to be logged on to.

I have one member now who has been trying to log on, for almost a week without success. He in unable and has the same time out issue happen.

Has anyone else experienced this, and if so, is there a reason, a fix known, or something else he (and others that have also had this happen) can do, to correct this?

Thanks much!!! :)

Kindred

500 errors are server side errors

your best bet would be to talk with your host -- if nothing else, they should be able to tell you what is triggering the 500 error, based on the server logs.
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

spitfire80

Quote from: Kindred on September 29, 2015, 12:32:03 PM
500 errors are server side errors

your best bet would be to talk with your host -- if nothing else, they should be able to tell you what is triggering the 500 error, based on the server logs.

Thanks for the quick reply. Can i ask.. as i dont know the term. What are server "side errors?"

best again.

Illori