News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

Installing mods is breaking my entire website 2 out of 3 times and I know why...

Started by gemusli, October 03, 2015, 02:24:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gemusli

Installing mods is breaking my entire website 2 out of 3 times and I know why but I don't know how to fix the problem and so now I am afraid to install any further mods.  I am posting here because the error is occurring across multiple mod installs so the error may be in the core code.

I'm a programmer and my account here is 6 years old - I say that so you will understand I know what I am talking about.

I am on Unix/Apache running SMF in a subdirectory off the main  domain (hxxp:www.ineedwanthave.com/hiddenforum/). [nonactive]

I installed at 2.0.7, upgraded to 2.08, upgraded to 2.0.9, tweaked your code so the upgrade to 2.0.10 would work (had to remove the word "index" from /themes/default/languages/index.english.php from line two, which is in a comment (also, the package "SMF 1.1.21 / 2.0.10 Update" does not have the word "[ Uninstall ]" next to it now like the other package updates do but whatever)), then I upgraded to 2..0.11 which is where I am now.

I tried installing the mod "Stop Forum Spam" and did not have a problem this was around version 2.0.8 which was check marked to run as 2.0.7 for compatibility purposes at the point I upgraded to 2.0.9 I think but anyway...

After the upgrades I tried installing the mods "Bad Behavior" and "Say Thanks" and both attempts resulted in my entire website giving a 500 Internal Error, even the root of the domain where SMF is not installed got the 500 internal error.

The error being produced, from the log files, is: " [Sat Oct 03 12:08:16 2015] [error] [client 192.185.1.20] SoftException in application.cpp:668: Directory "/home/ineedwanthave" is writeable by group 12:19:58 PM " and I believe this is what happened both times.