News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

issues upgrading from 1.1.10 to 2.0.11

Started by AceAH47, November 07, 2015, 06:41:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AceAH47

Greetings, SMF community--

I'm a complete PHP novice who has been left in charge of a lightly-modded Simple Machines forum (v1.1.10), currently running on my third-party host.  I'm trying to institute a long-overdue upgrade to 2.0.11, and having some trouble.  I have:
  • Backed up the existing install and database
  • Downloaded the upgrade package.
  • Unzipped it on my own system, then uploaded the complete unzip to the appropriate directory on the host, allowing it to overwrite the old files (since apparently I'm not allowed to unzip the upgrade package ON the host.)
  • Manually checked the permissions for all the relevant folders and files (they're all set to 755/644, duplicating the exact same settings as the working v1.1.10 installation).
  • Navigated to upgrade.php in the relevant directory via Web browser.
At this point, the upgrader screen appears, but fails with a variety of error messages of similar formats, including:

Notice: Undefined index: upgrade_step in /home/acemoore/amber/upgrade.php on line 3493
Notice: Undefined index: upgrade_progress in /home/acemoore/amber/upgrade.php on line 3488
Notice: Undefined index: upgrade_upgrade_utility in home/acemoore/amber/upgrade.php on line 3476
  [maybe;  this message is top-line, with the bottom halves of the chs sliced off]

Etcetera.  I don't get to telling it my connection info, or any of the other steps documented elsewhere.

From reading similar threads, I'm guessing the upgrader is trying to reference missing files, as if my FTP transfer dropped something, but every spot-check comparison I've made between the unzipped package and the directories on the host matches.  Plus I re-uploaded a few times to try to make sure everything transferred.