News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Does anyone offer services for migrating from Vanilla2 to SMF?

Started by Larvas, January 13, 2016, 03:57:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Larvas

Hey guys,

I'm new to the board and sorry for such a direct approach with 0 posts. The thing is, I recently acquired an older domain and it has wordpress 3.0 on it together with a vanilla2 forum. Although I'm good with WordPress and can do everything connected to it alone, I'm not that good with forums. So, my question is, is there anyone professional here offering migrating services?

I would need the whole current forum transferred to SMF without losing any permalinks/topics/users...

Thanks, regards!

njtweb

Out of curiosity, why would anybody pay for a forum script, much less one like Vanilla? What is the benefit of paying astronomical monthly fees?

margarett

Quote from: njtweb on January 13, 2016, 04:07:58 PM
why would anybody pay for a forum script, much less one like Vanilla? What is the benefit of paying astronomical monthly fees?
No hosting hassles, no maintenance to perform, upgrades to do, etc. It's a similar service to the one offered by Proboards. The price is astronomic yes, but hey, they have customers :P Do note, there is support included so it's really for a different "target" than what we usually see in Open Source forum softwares ;)
However, Vanilla has a "download and use yourself" version which is free --> https://vanillaforums.org/download

Quote from: Larvas on January 13, 2016, 03:57:25 PM
I'm new to the board and sorry for such a direct approach with 0 posts. The thing is, I recently acquired an older domain and it has wordpress 3.0 on it together with a vanilla2 forum. Although I'm good with WordPress and can do everything connected to it alone, I'm not that good with forums. So, my question is, is there anyone professional here offering migrating services?