Two "Show Replies to Your Posts" bugs - cancelled reply & no new threads

Started by Mother Fussbudget, May 27, 2016, 05:23:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mother Fussbudget

I'm not a developer, more a Technical Business Analyst (and former QA engineer) and a SMF user on the MrMoneyMustache SMF [v2.0.8]. I've  noticed 2 bugs there with "show replies to your posts".  Please investigate.

The first may not be a defect - some use it as a way to track a 'thread' without posting: 

"Users that start a reply, then DELETE before posting will see the thread in their 'show replies to your post' history".
Steps:
1) Start a post to a message thread.
2) Cancel, or browser-back without actually posting a reply.
3) Wait until other updates (not by you) are made to the thread...
4) Check 'show replies to your posts'
RESULT:  the thread the user did NOT REPLY TO is shown in the "show replies to your posts" history.

The second defect is possibly related:
"Users no longer see 'new threads' in their 'show replies to your posts' history after attempting to reply to a 0-reply thread that gets deleted before their reply". [in my case, I only see 'replies' to threads I posted to >12 months ago]
Steps:
1) Start a reply to a post with "0" previous replies.
2) While in the 'edit', have the OP *delete* the "0-reply" post.
3) Attempt to save the REPLY to the deleted message (and get an error message)
4) Check 'show replies to your posts' history.
RESULT:  only forum thread responses BEFORE step 2 will be shown in the 'show replies' history.

In May 2015, I was writing a REPLY to a post that had received "0" responses.  I worked up a detailed response, explaining why no-one had replied to date, and addressing some of the issues the user was having.  It took several hours to prepare the reply (job, life, etc. intervened).  BUT... when I went to POST THE REPLY, the ORIGINAL MESSAGE had been DELETED by the OP.