Recent Posts - Subforum, and non-links?

Started by Griffy, September 05, 2016, 04:18:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Griffy

Hi Guys,

Been working on a php to view Recent posts on my main page. I'm pretty new to php, so this is pretty easy for you guys...

I started with this of course:

<?php 
require_once('/absolute/path/to/SSI.php');
ssi_recentTopics();
?>

After updating the path accordingly, it does work, no problem.

So, I need to customize the output a bit, and after scouring the docs and this forum, I find this:

<?php ssi_recentTopics($num_recent 8$exclude_boards null$include_boards null$output_method 'echo'); ?>

Seems grand, however, I cant get it to do what I want, lol. I only want to display recent topics from 2 specific subforums, and display that information as text-only (not links). My syntax is apparently incorrect, and I cannot find working examples of similar situations.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Griffy

Paracelsus

Can't you just use the url for recent topics and add "board=ID;" for the desired board (with commas separating multiple boards) or "c=ID;" for categories?

Edit: Just noticed you want them displayed on Main page. Thinking again, maybe it's not that easy. :P

Kindred

No... The ssi for recent topics has it built in to do exactly what you are asking.

Include_boards...

Array(3,5) where the 3 and 5 are the board ids

As for text no links...
Output = block

So....

$boardlist = array(3,5);

$my_recent = ssi_recentTopics(8, NULL, $boardlist, 'block');

For each $topic in $my_recent
{

Read out the contents that you want from the array... Don't include links if you don't want

}
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Griffy