Setting up email registration and error log

Started by RevuHelp, March 15, 2017, 09:08:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RevuHelp

I am new to SMF and am trying to set up my first forum.  I am setting up email conformation in user registration.  I have tried both PHP and SMTP settings and no emails are going out as I test it.  I checked the error log (as these forums recommended) but see no email related errors.  However, in just the 24 hours I have been setting this up, there are 173 pages of errors.  While they are not all identical, theya are all thre lines long and the middle line of each is:

8192: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead

Is this the issue?  Or a whole other problem?  What am I missing to get email confirmation to work?

According to my ISP, I am using v2.0 of SMF.

Thanks!

Steve

Illori

you need to upgrade to SMF 2.0.13 ASAP. that will also fix that error.

RevuHelp

OK.  Dumb question.  How do I upgrade?  I'm looking for an upgrade option in the Admin mode.  Or do I need to externally download it and then upload to my ISP?

RevuHelp

OK.  I found it.  What threw me was that each update is incremental.  It doesn't just jump to the latest version.  Once I get done clicking UPDATE over and over I'll try again and see what happens.

Is the mailing problem part of the bad version?

Illori

RevuHelp

OK.  Got the updates installed an the repetitive errors stopped.

Tried a test registration with PHP email verification.  Seemed to go thru fine as test user.  Never got an email.  No errors in log.

Tried a test registration again with SMTP this time (using settings as told by ISP).  Seemed to go fine as test user.  Never got an email.  Error log shows:

Could not connect to SMTP host: 110 : Connection timed out
2: fsockopen(): unable to connect to smtp.revuhelp.com [nofollow]:587 (Connection timed out)

So it looks like a timeout error.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Illori