Advertisement:

Author Topic: Asking for help with formatting bug  (Read 1919 times)

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Asking for help with formatting bug
« on: March 16, 2017, 03:36:08 PM »
Somewhere in setting up and moving into a new site install of SMF, I or one of my mods has created a formatting bug that is not in my old forum.  The top part of the forum does some strange things when the available window size drops low enough in width to hit a fixed width object in the post (like the post dialog box or a picture).

I have attached a screen shot of this when the window size is large and the formatting stays good and also when the window size is smaller and the formatting goes to heck.

I should just get a scroll bar and the formatting stays good.

Any help would be much appreciated.


Offline Looking

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,102
  • SMF Customization
    • jeanborde on Facebook
    • SMF Custom Themes
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2017, 03:54:48 PM »
Just looking at a screenshot cannot help. You have to look at the template vs CSS and see what is happening. Something a missing " or > could cause that problem too.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2017, 04:00:37 PM »
I can upload the current template file. Which .css is needed?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,511
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2017, 04:13:19 PM »
just uploading a file may not help track down where the issue is. a link may be more helpful.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 04:17:20 PM »

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,511
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2017, 04:58:42 PM »
does this issue happen with the default theme? if not then it is an issue with your custom changes.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2017, 05:02:28 PM »
I'm running the default theme. It only looks different because the color of the graphics have been changed. Also this is the same as the previous forum  @.org  and it does not have this formatting issue.  There are some mods added to this forum that were not in the .org one. But the theme and the css files are all the same

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2017, 05:17:34 PM »
I'm not seeing the problem with your test post.  Are you using a portal for the ads on the right, or is that custom?

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2017, 05:22:43 PM »
The ads are a mod by smfhacks.   They did not think their mod caused this although I do not have this mod installed in the old site.  The formatting issue occurs regardless of if the ads are viewable.

To see the issue, just reduce your browser window until the bottom slider bar is present. Then scroll to the top right. The more scrolling, the worse it gets

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2017, 05:35:43 PM »
That's really wierd, some bits are cut off, some are not.  Have you tried uninstalling the ad mod?

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 47,511
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2017, 05:50:45 PM »
i dont think it is the ads. how are you adding the image to the message? it seems it is too wide the stay in the border of the message body. i think if you try an image not in your gallery it may work without issue. it may be a gallery issue.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2017, 06:21:45 PM »
Yes I updated the test post with a public image. Without the fixed width image, you can't see the issue. Try the link now. Thanks


BTW, it does not matter the source of the image. Even a dialog box (like the post box) will show this.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2017, 06:26:52 PM »
Nice kitty! (Sir Osis likes cats, taste like chicken).

Have you tried uninstalling the ad mod?

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2017, 06:33:20 PM »
Nice kitty! (Sir Osis likes cats, taste like chicken).

Have you tried uninstalling the ad mod?


No, not yet. It's now a manual un install and they did not supply the readable version of the mod so I'll have to look at the XML file to see what the un installer isn't liking. I may try and install it on the old site and see if the issue shows up there.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2017, 06:43:15 PM »
OK, I installed AddSeller Pro on the old site and there is no formatting issue.  I don't think it has to do with this mod.  One of the others had to have messed up something tho.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2017, 01:32:32 PM »
Was rhat the only difference between the two installs?  Did you reinstall mods on new site, or copy all files from old site?


Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2017, 12:31:57 PM »
I reinstalled all mods from scratch on a clean SMF install on the new site. Then I copied the DB tables over.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2017, 12:54:23 PM »
I would revert back to a clean install, if the problem is not there, reinstall the mods one at a time and see which is causing the glitch.

Offline Coyote Keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 146
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2017, 12:57:56 PM »
Yeah unfortunately I have hundreds of users online 24 hrs a day.  While it may be my only option, it's not a great one for me.

Offline Sir Osis of Liver

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 6,713
  • Too long in the wasteland
Re: Asking for help with formatting bug
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2017, 01:10:15 PM »
You can set up a test forum in a different directory, clean install, import your production database, run repair_settings.php, try it there.  If two mods edit the same block of code, a problem can show up depending on which one is installed first.  Only way to determine that is to install the mods one at a time.