Advertisement:

Author Topic: [FIXED] Forums Asking for cPanel!  (Read 9540 times)

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
[FIXED] Forums Asking for cPanel!
« on: November 11, 2005, 09:18:03 AM »
Some one please help me. Every first and second page of a topic, it asks me for cPanel login. Why the ****** does it ask me for that? Someone PLEASE help me on this. My forums are having alot of problems lately
« Last Edit: November 11, 2005, 07:55:24 PM by Tippmaster »

Offline redone

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,938
  • Gender: Male
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2005, 09:23:23 AM »
Lots of host support cpanel which is basically an interface for you as the owner of the webspace have access to which allows you to carry out various tasks.

Not all hosts provide cpanel and you will find some offer a panel called plesk and some have a custom built interface.

The reason people mention cpanel so much is because its very popular and easy to use.

~redone

p.s You shouldnt really need access to cpanel to fix your forum generally unless someone needs mysql or Fantastico access.


Offline Tony Reid

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,152
  • Gender: Male
    • @AbsoluteBreeze on Twitter
    • www.fertilityfriends.co.uk
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2005, 09:44:15 AM »
Are you sure its a cpanel login and not a .htaccess login?

Are your images in a protected folder?
Tony Reid


My Big Board
www.FertilityFriends.co.uk/forum - An SMF powered forum with over 5 million posts

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2005, 05:47:29 PM »
no no no. in the forums, it asks for Cpanel.

It says:
Enter a username and password for "cPanel" at http://www.mysite.com:2028

I didn't put my site url for a reason.

I know what cPanel does, and the forums keep asking for it. Could it be a hacking attempt?

Offline Tony Reid

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,152
  • Gender: Male
    • @AbsoluteBreeze on Twitter
    • www.fertilityfriends.co.uk
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2005, 05:50:58 PM »
Can you provide a test account?

Tony Reid


My Big Board
www.FertilityFriends.co.uk/forum - An SMF powered forum with over 5 million posts

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2005, 06:45:08 PM »
you really don't need one, just, go to www.glitcherscorner.com/forums/. go to any topic, it asks people for a cPanel account. And i never installed any mods :S.

Offline 1MileCrash

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,188
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2005, 06:47:14 PM »
you'll need to allow us to veiw threads.
The only thing php can't do is tell you how much milk is left in the fridge.



Offline gerrymore

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 197
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2005, 06:53:33 PM »
Yep agreed. Can you set up a test account so people can see what you mean?
SMF RC1, Tiny Portal 0.75, Coppermine 1.3.3, Flashchat.

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2005, 06:57:00 PM »
Sorry hold on. Guest can view now.
Guest can view the topics, and umm, it also shows up.

Offline 1MileCrash

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,188
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2005, 07:00:00 PM »
im getting it.

is there ANY files, images, whatever, that the browser may be trying to access that isnt in the public_html directory?
The only thing php can't do is tell you how much milk is left in the fridge.



Offline gerrymore

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 197
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2005, 07:06:25 PM »
I think its an ownership and/or permissions problem with the directory that you have SMF in. Do a search for "Fix Ownership" on here and you should find out more about this. I'd also look ant chmoding all directories to 777 (including the parent directorey SMF is in). Do a search here for "Why 777 is not a security risk". Bloc or Grudge wrote a thread on this some time ago.
SMF RC1, Tiny Portal 0.75, Coppermine 1.3.3, Flashchat.

Offline 1MileCrash

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,188
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2005, 07:09:58 PM »
The only thing php can't do is tell you how much milk is left in the fridge.



Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2005, 07:19:50 PM »
Ok let me try these.

Ok i chmod the forums folder and files to 777, and the public_html, and www, dir's to 770.

and still asks for cPanel.

Offline gerrymore

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 197
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2005, 07:27:53 PM »
Its 777 they need to be. But there is also Ownership, which is a different thing. The thread on it should explain better than I can.

@Tipmatster: I stand duly corrected.
SMF RC1, Tiny Portal 0.75, Coppermine 1.3.3, Flashchat.

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2005, 07:32:23 PM »
I've done everything it said. I chmod everything in the forums folder to 777 and the forum folder to 777, i chmod the public_html and www folders to 770, i ran the Ownership script, i triple check the permissions, i did EVERYTHING!!!! wtf is doing this?

Offline 1MileCrash

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,188
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2005, 07:36:57 PM »
maybe you should try contacting your host.
The only thing php can't do is tell you how much milk is left in the fridge.



Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2005, 07:42:56 PM »
Already did. My cousin is my host. The servers are fine, the /var folder is overloading with logs and monitoring reports, that was taken care of, and a day after that was fixed this happened. So i know 100% it's not the server. The server is the exact same way it was b4 this happened.

Offline Trekkie101

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 8,157
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad Astra!
    • https://www.facebook.com/DLRPRoundup on Facebook
    • @dlrproundup on Twitter
    • DLRP Roundup
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #17 on: November 11, 2005, 07:44:05 PM »
<div class="signature"><a href="http://www.glitcherscorner.com/" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.moddingcrew.com/images/Afrog2-5.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a><br /><a href="http://www.glitcherscorner.com/forums/index.php/topic,135.0.html" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.glitcherscorner.com/images/user_bar_crob.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a><br /><img src="http://glitcherscorner.com:2082/green-status.gif" alt="" border="0" /><img src="http://glitcherscorner.com:2082/yellow-status.gif" alt="" border="0" /><img src="http://glitcherscorner.com:2082/red-status.gif" alt="" border="0" /></div>

Whatever that mess of code is supposed to do, a status thing, trying to use the cPanel status's from the service status page is causing your login screen, fix it in your template by replacing the images location with a non-cpanel based one- note :2082

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #18 on: November 11, 2005, 07:46:30 PM »
That was my signature from like 2 years ago.

Offline GC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 440
  • GamingEvo.com
    • GamingEvo.com
Re: Forums Asking for cPanel!
« Reply #19 on: November 11, 2005, 07:51:28 PM »
wow, who would have thought that would work... thanks :D.
I find it sad how i can do php work and alot of web related work, but couldn't figure that out. Thanks alot!

Now to figure out why announcements won't send to people's e-mails and newsletters.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2005, 07:54:25 PM by GC »