News:

Wondering if this will always be free?  See why free is better.

Main Menu

New Mod Maker

Started by sonyedorly, December 15, 2005, 01:19:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sonyedorly

Hey All...

I am just learning how to make mods but I cannot find where the Edit Features and Options area saves all of the variables!!!it is driving me nuts because I have my settings in there, you can change them and it will pull and display them properly but I cannot find out how to read them from my code!!!please tell me how to find it.

Thank you very much
sonyedorly

dtm.exe

Try ModSettings.php or ModSettings.template.php.

sonyedorly

I have gotten that far, I have added my settings config there and can change stuff, but how do I pull something from that page?

or am I missing something

Thantos

They are stored in the settings table.

sonyedorly

ok, ill go check there!thanks

and I should be able to pull them but if not ill post again!

thanks again
sonyedorly

UPDATE::

I found the right spot and got it working but when I make it into a mod package (im using smf mod creator beta) it will not install, it doesnt throw any errors, it just doesnt change anything, btw, thanks for all the help on the previous issue

Sheepy

The mod creator only edit .mod or .xml files.  To make it a package (which may contains many many files) you need to compile it so it is packed into tar.gz with package-info.xml.

Although I did wrote the mod editor to ease development, I strongly advise you doing with notepad or other text edit for at least your first mod or two.  You may wish to take a look at Unknown's Package SDK first.

sonyedorly

ok, thankyou, I have compiled it many times, but when it installs it, nothing changes, even tho it says everything would work on the install page, I will check out [Unknowns] sdk tho, are there any good package tutorials that you recommend tho?

JayBachatero

Follow me on Twitter

"HELP!!! I've fallen and I can't get up"