In my current forum, it's 1.
In a quickly built, temp, forum it seems to show id_group 1 in both members table as well as defined as 1 = admin in membergroups table.
Yet, when I try to put a custom button on the index-template page, below the bit that says "custom banners...go here" it won't work unless I say that I'm NOT in group 1.
if (in_array(1, $user_info['groups'])) {
echo '<a href="link>CLICK</a>' ;
}
However it only works if I change it to: if (!in_array(1, $user_info['groups'])).
Ideas as to why?
if (in_array(1, $user_info['groups']))
echo '<a href="link>CLICK</a>';
This code should show it to admins only. is $user_info declared as global?
Anyways, I think it is better to use $context['user']['is_admin'] instead. Make sure to declare $context as global if you are using the code in a place where that is not the case.
Quote from: Doug Heffernan on March 20, 2023, 05:11:47 PMif (in_array(1, $user_info['groups']))
echo '<a href="link>CLICK</a>';
This code should show it to admins only. is $user_info declared as global?
Anyways, I think it is better to use $context['user']['is_admin'] instead. Make sure to declare $context as global if you are using the code in a place where that is not the case.
I normally include ssi.php if the page is of my own design to permit this to work.
I'm using it in the default theme's index-template.php.
In fact, I use that type of language (except I use other groups to restrict pages), and I've never declared $context before. Haven't had to so far.
$user_info['groups'] is a part of ssi.
Quote from: rcane on March 20, 2023, 05:15:12 PMI've never declared $context before. Haven't had to so far.
It is declaired within the smf functions, that is why. I mentioned it as a reminder for just in case you were using your own function or using your code in an external file or something along those lines.
I un-installed and put a clean 2.0.19 in the root of the domain.
I can't make that code work as it does on other installations. It's like ssi isn't picking it up.
I tried using the core theme with no luck either.
Why not use is_admin?
Quote from: Kindred on March 20, 2023, 06:49:28 PMWhy not use is_admin?
Because I was using different user groups to filter out different membergroups from seeing the content--just kept the convention going.
Regardless, it doesn't work for id_group 0 either, and I presume that any other sub-groups I make won't work either. I can understand me fouling up a personal page, perhaps not including ssi properly, but this is in the index template.
$user_info[groups] is the array that you want to use.
you can use in_array to pull the individual group id
Quote from: Kindred on March 20, 2023, 07:05:10 PM$user_info[groups] is the array that you want to use.
you can use in_array to pull the individual group id
Yes, that's the code example I started with above. I've used it too many times to count.
FWIW, if(is_admin) does work, though that doesn't help with membergroups.
AND, if I do: (!in_array(1, $user_info[groups])) it will work. But, again, I know the group for admin is '1'.
Kindred, since i need this up tonight (it comes down in 3 days), what's the syntax to test if someone is either a guest or not logged in--to render a few items not visible on the login screen?
That's why I use the in_array.
I can make it work since is_admin works.
$user_info['is_guest']
$context['user']['is_guest']
$context['user']['is_logged']
Quote from: Diego Andrés on March 20, 2023, 07:43:16 PM$user_info['is_guest']
$context['user']['is_guest']
$context['user']['is_logged']
Yes. Those are not working.
If those are not working, then you have something very very wrong.
Those are core settings in the array
BTW $user_info['groups']
You need the quotes
Quote from: Kindred on March 20, 2023, 09:56:01 PMIf those are not working, then you have something very very wrong.
Those are core settings in the array
BTW $user_info['groups']
You need the quotes
I think it's all fixed.
There is a feature in my cPanel called mod security. It was interfering with the install of themes (and I suspect the SMF to some degree).
For some reason my host keeps flagging my IP and blocking me--tripping this mod security to fill me with 403 errors and such.
I have turned it off until i get installs and setup done; then I'll decide if it needs to be on. Have to read up on it.