Simple Machines Community Forum

Simple Machines => News and Updates => Topic started by: codenaught on August 16, 2006, 03:12:24 PM

Title: Mod Site Updates
Post by: codenaught on August 16, 2006, 03:12:24 PM
The Simple Machines Mod Team has been busy lately improving the mod site (http://mods.simplemachines.org/) to make the site more convenient for users downloading mods and mod writers who submit mods to the site. Some changes were also made to better sync the mod site with the current theme site, with new features that were on the theme site but not on the mod site.

The changes that have been made are:

User Improvements

Mod Writer Improvements

Bug/Security Improvements
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 03:24:14 AM
Mod site is now updated.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: xlegacyx on August 19, 2006, 03:57:31 AM
A slight glitch. The "Featured Mod" box goes outside the layout in Firefox 1.5.0.6. :P
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 12:32:42 PM
Can you please provide a screenshot?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 12:46:07 PM
Happens in FireFox 2.0b1 as well..
(http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/6991/featuredmodserrortm2.th.jpg) (http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/6991/featuredmodserrortm2.jpg)

btw. It took 51 seconds to load this page.. says so at the bottom.. but going to post that in another topic.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 12:53:58 PM
Umm I'll look into the Featured Mod error.  About the time it took it's because the server is acting up.  It should be back to normal soon.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 01:04:29 PM
Ok do a hard refresh.  Should be fixed now.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 01:07:17 PM
didn't have to refresh. it showed fixed :)
good job..
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 01:13:37 PM
Ok great.  Also for some of you the page might look a little discombobulated due to the cache.  To fix it just do a hard refresh.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Rudolf on August 19, 2006, 01:19:22 PM
there's an s on the top of the page
can't provide a screenshot, but here's the html source

s
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html lang="en">
.
.
.

must be an echo in the source files or a typo
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 01:35:38 PM
Fixed.  Somehow it got added to the end of hte file when I fixed the float issue.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Alan S on August 19, 2006, 03:50:08 PM
Idea :  maybe it would be a good idea to provide a RSS feed for the latest say 10 mods that were submitted so users can view the brand new mods?

Quote from: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 01:07:17 PM
didn't have to refresh. it showed fixed :)
good job..


I like your firefox skin , do you mind me asking what its called?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 03:55:13 PM
Quote from: Alan S on August 19, 2006, 03:50:08 PM
Idea :  maybe it would be a good idea to provide a RSS feed for the latest say 10 mods that were submitted so users can view the brand new mods?

Quote from: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 01:07:17 PM
didn't have to refresh. it showed fixed :)
good job..


I like your firefox skin , do you mind me asking what its called?

FireFox 2.0 default Theme  (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/Smileys/smf_xmas/tongue.gif)
There isn't any good themes yet for 2.0.. Since 2.0 only recently went open beta and few mod developers have updated themes for 2.0
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Thantos on August 19, 2006, 04:01:42 PM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
Make sure you aren't caching anything, like the the modsite.css file.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: winrules on August 19, 2006, 05:51:30 PM
Quote from: Thantos on August 19, 2006, 04:01:42 PM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
Make sure you aren't caching anything, like the the modsite.css file.
That might of been it, but I'll never know because I was just on a public computer (that's why I was using IE).
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: destalk on August 19, 2006, 05:58:50 PM
Looks like that under Safari also.


Quote from: Thantos on August 19, 2006, 04:01:42 PM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
Make sure you aren't caching anything, like the the modsite.css file.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: xlegacyx on August 19, 2006, 06:45:17 PM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
It looks fine to me on IE6. Delete your cache as suggested.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: G6™ on August 19, 2006, 06:47:45 PM
I have tested on FireFox 1.5.* , Opera9, IE 6/7, and Netscape and all the pages are looking as they should  :o
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 07:06:36 PM
Quote from: destalk on August 19, 2006, 05:58:50 PM
Looks like that under Safari also.

is that Safari 2.0?

Safari 1.3.2 Shows it correctly for me.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 19, 2006, 10:47:45 PM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)
That is definately a cache issue.  I had the same problem when I rolled the stire live.  I added ?newsite_8-19-06 to the call for the css so that it will pick up the new stylesheet.  Just do a hard refreh and should be fine.  CTRL + F5.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: destalk on August 20, 2006, 05:55:08 AM
Quote from: SleePy on August 19, 2006, 07:06:36 PM
Quote from: destalk on August 19, 2006, 05:58:50 PM
Looks like that under Safari also.

is that Safari 2.0?

Safari 1.3.2 Shows it correctly for me.

Safari 1.3.2, but it looks OK today. Somethng must have been fixed. ;)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: G6™ on August 20, 2006, 06:13:00 AM
Emptied cash when you rebooted the PC maybe :)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: RebelRose on August 20, 2006, 09:22:41 PM
I have IE7 and it looks like that also
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: destalk on August 21, 2006, 04:06:48 AM
Quote from: Mrs G6 on August 20, 2006, 06:13:00 AM
Emptied cash when you rebooted the PC maybe :)

Nope. It was the first time I had viewed it. Cleared cache also.

Something has changed.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: N3lson on August 21, 2006, 04:16:21 AM
I see fine mozilla firefox 1.5
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Nordoelum on August 21, 2006, 11:58:50 AM
Looking good :D

Birger :)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 22, 2006, 11:14:48 PM
A suggestion from me, please make a sections for individual SMF versions, so that, ppl can't download mods which are not comfortable with thier SMF. Decrease lot of time to search/go through mods. After making these sections, add sub categ like New Mods, Attachments(which you have). Same thing for themes also. 
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 22, 2006, 11:23:25 PM
You can just do a search for versions.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 22, 2006, 11:33:41 PM
Quote from: Jay The Code Monkey on August 22, 2006, 11:23:25 PM
You can just do a search for versions.


SEARCH s not a good answer, m expecting, yesterday i was searching for rc3 mods, just made me sad
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Zelnen on August 22, 2006, 11:46:21 PM
It's looking good.  ;)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: alx on August 30, 2006, 08:23:46 AM
Não seria interessante links com os mods separados por versões?

MODIFICAÇÕES PARA:
1.0.x | 1.1 RC1 | 1.1 RC2 | 1.1 RC3

*
*
*

Would not be interesting links with mods separate for versions?

MODIFICATIONS FOR:
1.0.x | 1.1 RC1 | 1.1 RC2 | 1.1 RC3

(english provided by google... kkkkk sorry!)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 30, 2006, 11:18:25 AM
That sounds like a good idea.  Easy to add.  If you want mods for : SMF 1.1 RC3 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=21) | SMF 1.1 RC2 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=17) | SMF 1.0.8 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=22)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: pmhoran on August 30, 2006, 12:15:07 PM
Quote from: Jay The Code Monkey on August 30, 2006, 11:18:25 AM
That sounds like a good idea.  Easy to add.  If you want mods for : SMF 1.1 RC3 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=21) | SMF 1.1 RC2 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=17) | SMF 1.0.8 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=22)


Definitely a good idea.

And ... I REALLY appreciate that the mod authors have chosen to share their "creations".  But its also REALLY frustrating when an SMF update (as in RC2 to RC3) is released and suddenly that mod we have grown to depend on suddenly doesn't work anymore.   And, despite posts & emails to the authors ... no answers are forthcoming about whether a NEW one is "in the works" or if that mod will no longer be available or ????

Leaves SMF forum hosts in a wee bit of a limbo ... and their members increasingly frustrated, in some cases.  Geez ... give us poor idiots that are "programming challenged" a bit of a break and at least let us know what is happening with the mods you so generously create & share.

JMHO
Peter
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 30, 2006, 11:55:16 PM
Ya, i upgraded rc2 to rc3.And rc3 released before 10days, still no popular mods are not there(for rc3). I have to search every day for rc3 themes/mods. If you divide all mods like rc2/rc3/1.0.8.., it's very easy to get mods which suppor my version. 
one more thing about browsing mods through forum Administ section
i think, SMF should stop displaying mods which are not related to the forum which s browsing. Because, if i browse for mods through my rc3 forum, it displays all mods which are not compa with rc3. Either they should develop this section(discussed above), or  they should think put some special colors/effects to mods which are compa with thier forum.. 
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 31, 2006, 12:21:59 AM
I'm looking for a place to add these links

SMF 1.1 RC3 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=21) | SMF 1.1 RC2 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=17) | SMF 1.0.8 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=22)
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 31, 2006, 01:30:48 AM
Quote from: Jay The Code Monkey on August 31, 2006, 12:21:59 AM
I'm looking for a place to add these links

SMF 1.1 RC3 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=21) | SMF 1.1 RC2 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=17) | SMF 1.0.8 (http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?action=search;smf_versions=22)


what about the second thing? Browsing mods throug forum admin section
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 31, 2006, 01:58:24 AM
Umm can you give more details for this?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 31, 2006, 02:13:39 AM
Quote from: Jay The Code Monkey on August 31, 2006, 01:58:24 AM
Umm can you give more details for this?


K, just go to admin section, then packages, you have an option to browse packages from forum(directly). Here, all mods will be displayed. Problem s, all mods will be displayed (which are not supported to the browsin forum). Moreover, no option of support, i mean, no specification to mods which version they support.
This section should be developed, so that, i can able to browse mods which support my forum version only. Otherwise, just show mods in different color(which supports to that forum), all other mods(which doesn't support)in some other color

hope you got it, sorry for poor english 
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 31, 2006, 02:26:31 AM
Yea I get it now.  I'll point this out to a developer.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 31, 2006, 02:39:37 AM
One more request, just now i browse mods, found yr Global Announcements is updated. But how do i know, if i don't visit yr site daily? How can ppl come to know that a mod is modified(not a new version)? You are modifin mods for some reasons(small bugs), so you can't release it as new version. But just make every small modification like this
example: yr global announcem version is 1.0Final
if you modify it, place it n this way 1.0.1
every small modification should follow 1.0.X until you release any new version, so that, we can easily understand, it's modified, we can see it n our forum packages section also. It should be applied for all mods. Sometimes, small modifications bring lot of changes, so we should know.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 31, 2006, 02:48:01 AM
The changes I've made have been small type-os or soemthing like it.  Today I was testing a new feature so I used that mod to test the feature.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 31, 2006, 03:05:27 AM
Quote from: Jay The Code Monkey on August 31, 2006, 02:48:01 AM
The changes I've made have been small type-os or soemthing like it.  Today I was testing a new feature so I used that mod to test the feature.


It's not a problem with yr mod, but all moddevelopers, theme makers should consider this.
Simple example:
4 days back, i downloaded Dilber MC, as soon as it released.Just after 3hrs, one serious bug discovered, author modified the theme. But what about ppl who downloaded in those 3hrs, after 1day one more bug...Ppl won't see the last date(modified), they simply check the version.Same thing with mods
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Dannii on August 31, 2006, 03:11:48 AM
If you want to keep informed, the best way is to turn on notifications for the topic of the mod.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nitins60 on August 31, 2006, 03:14:12 AM
Quote from: eldʌkaː on August 31, 2006, 03:11:48 AM
If you want to keep informed, the best way is to turn on notifications for the topic of the mod.


but it will send all messages, even some one say thanks to author, i will get it as a mail. It makes my mail box full, may lead to SPAM
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: xduugu on August 31, 2006, 07:12:40 AM
Would be great if there were either a note that the mod authors are not able to reply to a question in the reviews or the possibility to comment on the reviews.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on August 31, 2006, 10:37:29 AM
Well Grudge suggested to add a feature on the mod site that when a new version is added it will notify the users that have selected to be notified.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: bon4ire on October 08, 2006, 02:05:20 AM
Quote from: winrules on August 19, 2006, 03:38:36 PM
I'm getting some wierd behavior on IE6:

(http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/6309/modsiterp4.png)


Try changing your text size in IE to the Medium default.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on October 08, 2006, 02:09:45 AM
Do a hard refresh.  CTRL + F5.  That is a caches bg image.  The image was changed.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Phydeaux on October 08, 2006, 05:24:42 AM
Yup, I get the same issue sometimes on realmsofhyrule.com, but I've only seen it there in the post display. I keep the caching off on SMF though, and I use Firefox. A hard refresh clears it up, and all I've been able to figer is that Firefox just hiccups sometimes... prolly just tipsy from having such fine champagne html pass through it from SMF.  8)

Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: youngspider on January 26, 2007, 03:30:29 PM
Password on Any Board Features / mod is still not Available For 1.1.1

waiting
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on January 26, 2007, 03:34:01 PM
What does the mod site being updated have to do with a single mod being updated.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: crud3w4re on February 11, 2007, 06:03:37 PM
hm. Should there be a problem with some mods and the new SMF version?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: SleePy on February 11, 2007, 09:51:48 PM
That depends what the issue is. If mods are failing on install that is not our mod site issue. If you are having troubles downloading or browsing than yes.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: koji on February 28, 2007, 11:16:55 AM
The mod submission code has been broken.  I cannot upload a new version of my mod.  The current mod is broken and it can be downloaded, but I can do nothing to change any of it.

My Package ID had a space in it, which was fine before but now it's not allowed. I changed the space to an underscore but I still can't submit the mod because now the Package ID is different from previous versions! Argh!

On another note, the SMF Package system is great - but I think it could be even better if there were more developer-facing tools.  E.g. There could be a "My Mods" section where mod developers can easily view/edit their modifications from 1 place.  Currently I have to use the Search to find my own mods!

Also if uploading a new version that uses the same filename, it loses the "unique downloads" value. Shouldn't that be carried over?

Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on February 28, 2007, 11:38:00 AM
I take the blame for that.  Is this a new mod or you are editing an existing mod?  If the latter I'll change the package I'd for you.

I'll look into adding a My Mods link.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: koji on February 28, 2007, 11:58:54 AM
It was an existing mod.

The old id was koji:Zodiac Starsigns but if you could change it to koji:Zodiac_Starsigns that would be great :)

Actually, I'll need you to change my other mod as well: koji:Zodiac 13Moon

(I hope not too many mods had spaces in the id's!)

Cheers,

Hey another thing - I submitted a mod ages ago but then removed it. I would like to upload a new mod that uses the same name - but I can't because the Package system still knows about the original mod. Despite the the fact that it has been "removed from the list" and only I can see it.  What should I do in this situation? Choose a different name? Why should I when no other mod is using the name anymore?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on February 28, 2007, 12:13:26 PM
Ok edited both mods and replaced the spaces with _.  About the other mod.  Reupload the file to the current one and let me know when you have done so.  I'll add it to the mod queue.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: koji on March 08, 2007, 09:24:45 AM
Thanks,

Only I'm leaving it for the moment because I'm not sure how reliable the mod is. It shows the first 80 characters of a post and I wrote my own function to remove BB tags (but not BB contents). I don't know how reliable that function is. Is there already an SMF function that does that?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: JayBachatero on March 08, 2007, 12:23:30 PM
Look into parse_bbc since it handles printing posts and wireless mode and bbc tags are stripped out from there.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nathan42100 on April 22, 2007, 04:49:43 PM
On my forum, no mods show up for the package downloader for either this or the SMF hacks site. They worked before upgrading to 1.1.1 and for a short time after. Now it just shows -No mods yet.
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: 青山 素子 on April 22, 2007, 05:08:22 PM
Do the servers show up as package servers on the Download Packages page?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: winrules on April 22, 2007, 05:35:55 PM
Did you recently upgrade to PHP 5.2?
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: nathan42100 on April 22, 2007, 08:32:15 PM
Quote from: Motoko-chan on April 22, 2007, 05:08:22 PM
Do the servers show up as package servers on the Download Packages page?
yes
Quote from: winrules on April 22, 2007, 05:35:55 PM
Did you recently upgrade to PHP 5.2?
I don't think so. Lemme check dreamhost.com...I don't think so...


But the weird thing is, the "Latest Packages" still show up...
Title: Re: Mod Site Updates
Post by: Laptop Sezaii on May 20, 2007, 10:45:57 AM
thanks