Simple Machines Community Forum

SMF Support => Language Specific Support => العربية (Arabic) => Topic started by: aa26i on October 31, 2006, 05:50:31 PM

Title: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: aa26i on October 31, 2006, 05:50:31 PM
hi guys,

i just started using simple machines and i find him very useful and good. but i have one problem. like vbulletin there is language choice between the languages you install in the forum. but in this simple machines how can i add Arabic and English together so register member or any visitor can change the language from the main page of the site
i hope i clear my point.

thanks

Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: se7o.com on October 31, 2006, 06:07:23 PM
بص

انا مش هفتي

بس هقلك الى اعرفه

انت ترفع ملفات اللغه بتاعت العربي طبعا


واعتقد بقي
هتسمح للمستخدم انه يختار اللغه المفضله بتاعتو من لوحة التحكم عندك
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on October 31, 2006, 06:26:07 PM
you mean as it is in this forum you can't now
but every user can change his language form the profile if you let him from you control panel
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: aa26i on November 01, 2006, 03:13:48 PM
hi,

please can u tell my how i can do that. i mean to upload through FTP is ok ..
but steps after that..?
i shall be extremely thankful to u

bye
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on November 01, 2006, 03:23:33 PM
you should upload the Arabic files into this path :

smfFolder/themes/default/languages/

then go to your control panel by pressing admin link

after that server settings then change the default language to Arabic

if you don't want to make Arabic default you could leave it

if the users want to change the language from their profile then Account Settings then change their language
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: aa26i on November 02, 2006, 05:13:12 AM
Thanx for replyin n helping. but i have one more question. i totally understand what u said about the procedure but the question is that i downloaded the arabic language files which comes with the folder themes.inside this folder there are folders classic and default. and there r more folders inside these folders such as classic contains images/arabic and languages. default contains help , iamges/arabic and languages.

Now which files or folder do i have to upload in themes/default/languages.....

Should i change the name of folder or copy them in the same folder with all files already exists.
because there are button images files to in arabic language pack. little confuesd about that.

Hope u explain as easy as u did before.
thanking u in advance
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on November 02, 2006, 05:33:09 AM
OK by language files i meant only the text files that are in default/language folder


but now upload the whole themes folder into smfFolder and all files will be in the right place
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: linux-abdo on November 25, 2006, 06:16:24 PM
thanks croco :D
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on July 15, 2008, 06:52:08 AM
السلام عليك

Hi all,

Can anyone help  me how to make SMF with support more than 1 languange like this, i mean i could write in 2 or 3 languange in one post, like this

ive already install an arabic language pack on my forum, but still i cant write in 2 language in 1 post like in this post

im using SMF 1.1.4

any help would be much appreciate coz ill be need it as ramadhan will come in a couple weeks
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on August 09, 2008, 07:52:11 PM
you need to use UTF-8 encoding

Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: dj_ahmad on August 22, 2008, 05:01:34 AM
you can do this with joomfish component in joomla and mambo but in smf???!!!!
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on August 22, 2008, 08:52:09 AM
Thanks Croco, ill try
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on August 23, 2008, 01:22:35 AM
Hi Croco

i've tried the english UTF-8 package, but the arabic character still didnt show up, any suggestion ?

thanks
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on August 23, 2008, 03:12:17 PM
You need to convert the data first form maintenance section Admin page
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on August 24, 2008, 01:02:20 PM
hi again Croco

ive already convert the data, but the character didnt at all, instead im having a smilies, im using fantastico when installaing smf, the post here  (http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=255901.0) said that fantastico will ruin data convert, is it right ?
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on August 24, 2008, 03:42:15 PM
It is not related

OK
so what you did is install a new forum from fantastico, right ?
there should be an option in the Admin -> maintenance -> convert to UTF8

if that didn't help you have to change all the tables in you database that SMF uses to use the UTF8 encoding
(but this will work only when the forum is new and there is no old non-english data)
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on August 25, 2008, 09:07:29 PM
im not installin a new forum Croco, what im about to do is trying to convert my existing forum, a community based forum which has quite large DB

is there any way to do that Croco ?

thanks again
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on August 26, 2008, 12:43:09 PM

did you try this option ?
Admin -> maintenance -> convert to UTF8

and after that upload the new utf8 language pack

Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on September 02, 2008, 03:44:56 AM
Hi Croco for my late reply

i've tried that one, unfortunately it didnt work at all, is that any relation with the size of my DB ?
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: jannah on September 08, 2008, 01:12:40 PM
I've been trying to do this for ages as well and can't figure it out!!!!!

I changed my default language to "English-UTF8"

Then in maintenance I "Converted all html language entities to UTF8"

I have Arabic language installed.

I can switch languages but then everything is in Arabic. I want everything in English, but just the ability to cut and paste some Arabic inside like this:

انا مش هفتي

It just comes out as question marks on my board.... so how did they set this board up because it seems to work here??
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: islam2hamy on September 08, 2008, 01:26:19 PM
try to use arabic-utf8 files
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: ranKoto on September 10, 2008, 06:11:10 AM
hi jannah

im having the same problem in a couple weeks ago, but its fixed now  :)

this is what i did

go to your cpanel>phpmyadmin

convert the database collation into utf8_general_ci
then convert the collation in every single table in the database into utf8_general_ci
then go to your admin page > maintenance : Converted all html language entities to UTF8

dont forget to put your site in maintenance mode while converting the DB

good luck then   ;)

NB : i didnt even use the arabic-utf8 files or English-UTF8

using arabic-utf8 files didnt solve the problem, its just change the default languange into arabic
Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: jannah on December 15, 2008, 04:35:28 AM
Finally got some time today to do this!! Yayy your directions worked. Thank you so much ranKoto!!!! It took about 10 minutes to go through every table and change it but it's well worth it!!! thanks so much again. :) :) :)

Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Croco on December 15, 2008, 09:41:31 AM
Can you check if your database tables are UTF8 encoding ?


Title: Re: how can i install english + arabic together
Post by: Hj Ahmad Rasyid Hj Ismail on July 07, 2010, 01:33:03 PM
I am using Malay language as default and i can still post in arabic. Make sure the default language (whatever that is) is set to use utf8 version. UTF8 can read arabic whatever language that is.